Diamonds on the soles of my shoes

in #palnet5 years ago

It rained last night! And that means two things: we got some much-needed water, and I went out this morning and took many, many pictures of raindrops on everything! I apologize in advance if this post runs a little long. I couldn't stop! This is also my entry to Wednesday Walk, by @tattoodjay. It was a short walk in terms of distance, but took me almost an hour.

IMG_20190703_161901.jpg

I started out trying to take pictures in the flower garden, but it was 7:00 in the morning, and the puppies were excited about me going outside because they thought maybe I was going up to the barn to milk, and they get breakfast after that.

IMG_20190703_071940813.jpg

They kept jostling my arm, and knocking the water drops off the plants, so I gave up on the flower bed and went out to the regular garden, which is mammal free at that hour.

IMG_20190703_072638054.jpg

That last one was an asparagus frond. They are beautifully ferny after the harvest season is over.

IMG_20190703_073251081.jpg

The last time I did the water photos, the grass seed heads were still closed. Now they're open, and have a new kind of charm when they're covered in tiny diamonds.

IMG_20190703_074123297.jpg

The last round of these were almost all green, so I tried to mix in a few colors this time around.

IMG_20190703_074224034.jpg

Even the dead weeds have their charms.

IMG_20190703_074759897_HDR.jpg

IMG_20190703_090935764.jpg

The goats are loving their new snacks, by the way. I realize the narrative with these photos is a little boring, so I will try to give you the news. Today I added a piece of fence for the small herd, after pulling the rest of the bracken ferns. With gloves on this time!

IMG_20190703_081356440.jpg

My goal was to give the goats enough groceries to get them through the weekend. The family will be here for the holiday, and we will be at the family farm, so I wanted to clear my schedule as much as possible.

IMG_20190703_075511513.jpg

I will still have to go make sure they have water, baking soda and minerals every day, and check that the fence isn't sagging, but those stops are quick and easy and will give me plenty of time to hang out with the family and eat stuff I didn't have to cook. Best kind of weekend ever!

IMG_20190703_073808714.jpg

In spite of the fact that tomorrow is a major holiday that involves being outside, I am hoping we get a little more rain. It's terrible for Farmer Dan's hay and all the barbecues that are supposed to happen tomorrow, but we could sure use a little more.

IMG_20190703_072910036.jpg

As you can see from the above photo, the blueberries are starting to ripen! Another few weeks and we'll be in berry heaven!

IMG_20190703_074837997_TOP.jpg

I originally went out looking for spiderwebs this morning, since we've entered the season of webs in the face everywhere I go. I found a few, but not as many as I expected. This one was kind of a horizontal sheet that managed to gather quite a few gems.

IMG_20190703_074513611.jpg

This bit of moss has been baked by the sun and turned the most lovely shades of red and gold.

IMG_20190703_074951865.jpg

I went out to the flower garden after morning chores, when the puppies were safely in their food coma, and got a few more. Somehow there are still a few blooming bleeding hearts. They've been going for months.

IMG_20190703_080923362_HDR.jpg

This is actually a weed that I should have pulled long ago, but I can't do everything, so some things always fall through the cracks.

IMG_20190703_091223540.jpg

This is a garlic whistle. Years ago we planted tiny garlic bulbs around the rose bushes because they are good companion plants. We never dug them up, so every year they come up and do their thing. I can't tell if they're helping the roses or not.

IMG_20190703_091358842.jpg

Okay, I just have a few more and then I will stop.

IMG_20190703_081723819.jpg

I can't believe I've lived in Oregon, where it rains most of the time, for my entire adult life and much of my childhood, and it never occurred to me to photograph the rain. I guess I didn't think about photos as art until I started posting on Steemit, and got inspired by all the fabulous photographers I've gotten to know here.

IMG_20190703_091924305.jpg

Here's one more. I promise tomorrow we will return to our regularly scheduled programming!

IMG_20190703_072014613.jpg

Good night, everyone! Thanks for humoring me, those of you who stuck it out until the end!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

These are amazing shots! And your narrative absolutely wasn't boring. How could it be with such photos along? I'm not going to tell you which one I like the most as I wouldn't be able to decide :)

What kind of lens do you use?

Thank you for sharing and enjoy your holidays! :)

Thank you so much! I had a hard time not adding more pictures to the post. I took so many! I took those with my phone camera, so no special lens. It only has a 4x zoom, so I have to get up close and personal.

I'm so glad you enjoyed them! Have a wonderful holiday yourself!

Posted using Partiko Android

With your phone camera?! WOW!! They are so crisp. I can't imagine taking such crisp photos with my phone as my hands are too shake for this :D

The shaky hands are the hardest part! I do a lot of crouching on the ground with the phone resting on my knee.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have some fantastic water droplet photos! It's raining here again tonight. Maybe you've inspired me to go looking for water drops tomorrow! There must be something good about all this rain that we are getting!

In your situation, that might be the only good thing about it! Once I get started, I can't stop. It's addictive!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll see what the morning light looks like!

This morning it was perfect because it stopped raining just as it was getting light, and everything was perfectly beaded by the time I went out. The clouds were thinning and it was bright enough to get the good reflections. I hope to see some from you!

Posted using Partiko Android

I should have an opportunity one of these days, with all this rain! But we have also been getting wind. I'll be on the lookout for an opportunity!

Ta Nana Ta Nana....

Posted using Partiko Android

You got some amazing shots here! I absolutely love the one with the blue flowers. You should definitely keep going with your photography! :)

Thank you! It's really fun! I've been obsessed with pictures of water. Close up it looks like magic.

Posted using Partiko Android

These images are spectacular. !tip

Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Of course! You're very welcome.

🎁 Hi @goat-girlz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @kunschj!

@kunschj wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk ~ Galaxy'S Edge Feel free to follow @kunschj if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

These are so beautiful! :)

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Very welcome!

Hi goat-girlz,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Thank you!

wow goat girlz, what lovely pictures. I have never done this myself - like go out after rain and click picture of droplets everywhere. This sounds fun and I should try it. Right now when I am writing this comment- its raining. It first summer rain here in north India today and I will try going outside and click raindrops in the park. yyaay I am excited about the idea. thank you for sharing this, I totally loved your pictures specially the last one with an insect standing there. Congrats on your curie vote :):):)

Thank you so much! I hope you do go out and try it! It's really fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will when it stops raining :):)

Hahaha! It's definitely easier if it's not pouring on you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86