Video Tutorial - Claim Your New Dtube Account and Upload a Linked Video in Less Than 5 Minutes!

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I'm sure most of you saw the big @dtube announcement earlier this week about the big .9 changes.

I thought it might be helpful to make a quick video tutorial showing how to both claim your new account - and upload a @dtube video from a link (youtube, vimeo etc.) in less than 5 minutes total!


Claim Your Account - Just Do it. Even if you Don't Make Video Content


Even steemians who don't make video content may want to consider jumping in to claim their account. Dtube is giving Steemians a month to claim their username, but after that point - it is fair game. This means someone could grab your username and start posting videos - which could become really confusing for your Steem followers!


Posting From A Link Takes Literally 2 Seconds



As you can clearly see in this screenshare video - I was able to upload a @steemsistershow episode to Dtube in 2 seconds flat. Once you upload a video to YouTube, Vimeo or another video sharing platform, you can simply input the link, make a couple tweaks if needed and hit publish. It automatically imported the thumbnail, title and description which was helpful.

Why have two upload options?

IPFS servers allow for a truly decentralized video experience - which is fantastic for video creators that are being censored, demonitized, deplatformed - or just people that really want that. IPFS upload times can be slow, sometimes have playback issues, and is costly to Dtube to host.

If you are a creator that doesn't really care if your video is hosted on Youtube or not - then give it a try! It will save you upload times and will save Dtube storage costs - not to mention make upload wait times shorter for those who are using the IPFS functionality.

Now the big question I had was... will the Dtube team only be curating content that was uploaded, or will they curate content that was from a link as well? After reading through the comments on their announcement post, it is clear that they are curating both and are mainly looking for original content - just as they have always done.


Questions?


I hope those of you who have yet to jump in and claim your Dtube account found this helpful!! This video is a complete screen share where I walk you through every step of the process.

If you have any questions at all - please drop them below and I'll do my best to help you out!

XO, Lea


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

I managed to do it without having to put my public key on my profile (a very strange thing to do if you ask me), so I will see if uploading works better for me now.
Plus, my whole video catalogue now seems to be visible from like 8 months ago which you be a relief to those who were worried that their videos disappeared after a month like before.

Posting to d.tube with a yt link is so easy! And earning a new currency! Good opportunity!

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed! I think this is a great move for Dtube.

Greetings, dear and charming coruscate

It was a excelente notice. Upload my video now in 5 minutes, more or less. Until it, i used to wait about 1 hour...
thank you and have a good night

Hello @julisavio! I hope you are doing well! Great to hear that you were able to upload your video so easily. I'm pretty stoked about this change too. :)

I created an account the first day, but I did something wrong. I never posted my public key, but my account was still created. I have posted but it does not cross post to Steem. I have since posted my a public key. Do you have any idea what I can do

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hmmm that is tricky. Since this is more of a technical support type of thing - I think you'll need to reach out to their team in Discord. Here's a link to their official channel - https://discord.gg/xcJewj

Is there going to be an airdrop after testnet is over?

I'd have to go back and read the official post - but I believe they said there would be!

I claimed the account! Thanks for showing!

Awesome! I'm really glad you found this video helpful. :)

I went to d.tube on my mobile but I didn't see the red bar good video.

😁

Posted using Partiko Android

ahhh good point! I didn't think about whether it would be visible on mobile as well. Glad you got it all taken care of now!

I can never get IPFS to work. This makes d tube viable again.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've heard a lot of people saying that - which is super exciting!!

Thanks, Lea. This helped me get set up.

Yay! I'm so happy to hear that. ❤️

How do you upload an avatar for your profile?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47