You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Acrylic Fluid Art: YAP #29 (Video)

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

too many get there by promoting every post

I promote every post, heavy. Success could be better, but beats disappearing within minutes.

Jerry

...is a bit of a special case, wouldn't you agree?

invested following

Exactly why I'm not following anybody. Follow me because you like the content, and for no other reason.

Old ways don't work well here

Agree. The new ones will work even less, I can see that already, so I will probably leave.

This HF21 is a death knell for Steem. Perhaps not the 50/50 split, but the free downvotes for sure. I just caught a 100% $5 DV from @smooth which pretty much killed this post. Where was @smooth in the past, curating? Had it been his money he wouldn't have wasted a downvote on me...

I'm here out of nostalgic idealism. It used to be great, full of promise. But people always have to f.ck with a good thing and fix stuff that isn't broken. I detest FB and Youtube, but fact is, I can monetize my vids and sell my paintings better than here, with about the same effort and much more reach. Idealism doesn't last forever.

Good luck to you as well.

Sort:  

Quite a few more like Jerry. For the longest time, about two years, people would promote to trending, then amass a large following of noobs who thought the posts were popular and the creators were rich, hence all of those disingenuous comments I'd see under posts. "Nice post!" and the rest of that drivel. Those new member followers weren't interested in curating, they wanted to get noticed so their posts would get votes, so they could cash out for pennies. Eventually that gets boring, so they leave, and the one who promoted heavy is left with a following who abandoned them. So then, after months and months of promoting, the producer is right back where they started. Happens to nearly everyone. Those who promote think they'll get noticed by those with valuable votes, but those with valuable votes are the ones selling votes, not voting for free. The culture turned into those who were willing to vote for free would usually only vote for those who do not promote. So they all built up invested followings and started to grow, while those promoting eventually quit. True story, my friend.

Since so much SP was locked away in paid votes, there simply wasn't enough free SP to go around. Many left because they weren't earning.

With these changes in effect, the plan is to make curating for free just as if not more appealing than selling votes, by offering incentives such as higher curation rewards. 50/50 is the going rate. Youtubers have to forfeit 45% of their revenue and that piece of the pie only makes a few wealthy, whereas here it's more of a cooperative and the money stays with the people who can then decide what they want to do with it. I think being paid to be entertained is an easy sell, compared to get paid to produce content which can be done anywhere.

I too produce content that can make money outside of the platform. I can put the words on paper and sell the art as prints, and that's part of the plan.

which pretty much killed this post.

How did it kill the post? You wanted eyes, not money. That's why you promoted. Promotion costs money. My approach is organic so after the curator cut, that money is mine. Since I held majority of what I earned here, I can make up for the 50% I lose, by curating others and helping them succeed.

Maybe smooth was selling votes to you folks and earning more from your work than you folks do. I'm not sure but I did see his name on a couple of my posts early on. I've seen him downvote before, quite often. I still can't see why it's more appealing to pay people for votes though, so they can earn far more than they would under a 50/50 model, when to get them to vote, all you folks needed to do was stop paying them to not vote. I'll never be able to understand that logic. You want votes, so you pay people to not vote, and they earn more for not voting, than they would for voting. Classic case of shooting yourself in the foot.

The new ones will work even less, I can see that already, so I will probably leave.

I don't really think you were cut out for this anyway. Where did you see yourself under the old model, in three years? Still buying votes and earning tiny percentages? How much quality can you produce? I have to work sometimes 12 hour days or more to be able to produce one post here per day. I do take breaks though, and the followers don't seem to mind.

That's too bad you're quitting. I have a feeling that would have happened eventually anyway since that's usually the path of the consistent promotion road.

That's too bad you're quitting.

Yes, and I have made up my mind. Hubby, too. He's a guy who puts A LOT of effort in his travel videos, more than what I do. His videos usually take 50+ hours for editing alone and reach pro quality - all Steem exclusive.

He noticed a heavy downvote by @exyle on my video here and remarked "Let's see how this sanctimonious prick's shitcoin investment is doing when there are only Actifit reports and Steemmonsters left to keep his pyramid scam going."

Why "sanctimonious prick?" Because he remembered buying @exyle's vote recently:

ksnip_20190829225610.png

So, that's the Steem cheerleaders you put your trust in...

Anyway, I didn't want to leave you without a reply, after you put so much effort into your reply. I think you're a good guy who means well. Let's hope you won't be disappointed.

I'm outta here. Goodnight and be well, friend.

I do mean well. I started out with, don't take it personally.

Quite a few vote sellers have shifted or plan to shift back to being curators now that the incentives to do so are becoming somewhat balanced with vote selling, but I think curating is slightly more appealing now. When I started, travel bloggers, artists, everyone — they produced content, got discovered, eventually made money. The platform was more like Youtube's model where you could produce content, not expect much at the start, but slowly grow if people enjoyed your work. That all stopped once people starting paying the curators to not vote, by purchasing votes. You folks buying votes literally shot yourselves in the foot, as I've already said. You vote buyers paid people to look away. Of course someone will accept your money if you agree that all they have to do is take your money and not do anything. You're responsible for your own decisions, same with your husband.

They put thousands of hours into making movies, and that time spent doesn't make them good by default. Just saying. Just because you folks promote your work, that doesn't mean people have to enjoy it, or even look at it. Most people leave the room when the commercials start, and hit the "skip ad" feature when they can.

I'm not sure why you feel like sharing insults with me though. I don't want any part of that. If you really think pouting, calling people names, and saying the place is a scam, is a good idea, then I'll just assume it's probably best you're leaving. All you're doing is taking downvotes personally, which is silly.

don't take it personally

Of course it's personal. It's bullying, pure and simple, to enforce a certain behavior.

plan to shift back to being curators now

That's a pipe dream. Vote selling has become even more profitable now with the 50/50 split. In any event, whatever anybody is planning doesn't give them the right to bully people into behavior they deem appropriate.

Just because you folks promote your work, that doesn't mean people have to enjoy it

This is true, no guarantees. However, I have tried to explain to you already, the most valuable content takes too much of an investment in time and money to take the risk of being downvoted IN ADDITION to not being "liked" i.e. upvoted on its own merits. So these content creators will leave or never join in the first place because they can't win, no matter what. What's left is a few idealists and that's not enough.

Think of it as a rock band: In one town, they give concerts and sommetimes they bomb, occasionaly they have a full house and a fun gig. Risky, but on balance worth it. The fun factor of playing helps them to keep going even though the money isn't all that good.

In the other town their promotional materials are destroyed consistently, before the concerts even start, and attendance is low accordingly. The powerful city council is paying a posse from the public coffers, to tear down every poster and trash every flyer, because they don't feel rock music is worthy of their town's attention. The mayor says, this policy will bring symphony orchestras to town, for a bright future of classical music.

How many rock concerts will be held in that second town? And for that matter, how many symphonies played? I wager, they will be left with the town's own high school band at best.

I think curating is slightly more appealing now.

The problem is, you won't have much to curate.

Quick: How many top Youtubers has Steem managed to attract in the past, despite more favorable conditions and a more positive media hype? All they would have to do is, embed their already uploaded videos and take Steem as a bonus. And still, it's incredibly hard to onboard them!

What do you think happens every time a Steemian is disappointed for whatever reason and leaves? What kind of reputation does Steem get in other social media? How do you think the negative vibe of massive downvoting will play there?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81