Getting rid of those grey hairs.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #paleo7 years ago

Did you know that LCHF / paleo based diets are good for getting rid of grey hair?

canstockphoto29904735dd8d1.jpg

Now I'm by no means vain about my grey hair. I've had grey hair since I was in my early ’20s, vey likely due to my poor diet at the time, and the several decades since, according to Doctor Luan Pho grey hairs are a sign of both high carb and low protein diets.

In low carb, high fat diets, we are encouraged through macronutrient requirements to eat more protein than many on pure carbohydrate based diets often do. This can have many beneficial effects, not the least of which is allowing our bodies to produce dopamine, norepinephrine, epinephrine, coenzyme Q10, and thyroid hormones.

Doctor Pho says “[Grey hairs happen] when your body is unable to synthesize an adequate amount of melanin. Melanin is the pigmentation that gives your hair its natural color. In order to make melanin, your body needs a specific non-essential but yet conditional amino acid called tyrosine. [...] The availability of the needed amount of tyrosine may become deficient due to an incomplete diet low in protein.”

The exciting news, at least for me is the fact that it has been shown that people who go on a low carb, high fat diet, with adequate amounts of proteins can actually reverse this effect and eventually the grey hair will recede and be replaced with healthy, properly coloured hair, naturally.

Picture © Can Stock Photo / phatthanit
Sort:  

I hate my grey hair and keep having to have it coloured. Wonder if this really works or maybe you have to start it before turning grey

Haha, I'll have to let you know. I've just dyed my hair purple, so I'll have to get back to you on that one ahhaha.

Oh nice colour in way to old for that now lol bet it looks amazing :)

Interestingly if you search a bit through forums and the like, you see a fair few people state that they have had less grey since starting LCHF, but there's also people who state that they haven's seen any change at all. I think the important part is just making sure you eat a well balanced diet with your macros (low carbs, high fats, medium proteins) and micros (vitamins, minerals, and salts).

If you're thinking of giving the new diet a go, head over to the #paleo forum, where we're jump-starting the steemit community on all things paleo, primal, Atkins, LCHF, keto, etc. We can certainly give you pointers or help you out with any questions you have.

I'm going to start a diet as need to loose weight haven't decided which one as yet. Will give it some thought thank you :,j

No pressure, but if you don't have any idealistic viewpoints in particular and are just looking for an easy, flexible diet that just works, you may want to check out this site. It still has a lot of good information on there, even if you are considering one of the more brand-name diets.

I'll take a look Thank you : )

I don't know about grey hair (only my mustache and beard turned white) but I certainly noticed a difference in the quality of my hair. Almost instantly better, but since it's pretty short that probably showed up faster. Same with my skin and I lost a lot of the aged look in my face. I would certainly recommend LCHF Paleo for almost anyone.

And those are just the cosmetic improvements.

I'm 24, SO I don't have grey hairs yet, But this is an interesting topic :) I feel like when I'm older I'll just be thankful to have hair, But who knows if I'll still feel that way when I'm that age, I'm actually thinking of adding grey streaks because it looks cool.

I've been lowish carb, higher in fat and protein for 20 years now, but still have my grey hairs sadly :-(

Sounds good. Let me know how it works for you. I can lose a little grey

I'll tell you what I did notice.. some new hairs in my receding hair line... tiny little new hairs where there were none before... I've never read about this though. I have no idea what is going on.

I didn't get that, but I did finally get an increase in my beard and body hair. Which is a shame because I was happy being less hairy. Probably the increase in processing cholesterol into testosterone.

Wow. That is something. How many grams of protein do you consume daily. I did Atkins in past never noticed any effects other than weight loss

Not that much, I don't think. Just your standard couple of eggs every couple of days, some steak here and there, bit of chicken.

Mostly I'm trying to balance the micros, focussing on getting a broad range of vitamins and minerals on low carb, which is what I find hard, rather than how much protein/fat I'm getting.

If I'd have to guess, I'd say about 10-15g carbs, and 60g protein a day, and enough fat that it feels like enough.

It's probably something else though, because nothing I've read seems to indicate it's related to LCHF diet. Certainly nobody's claiming it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78