Paleo breakfast brownies

in #paleo7 years ago

There is something immensely satisfying about a decadent breakfast. That doesn't change when you go paleo. Some mornings, I toss a handful of spinach leaves in a skillet, pour some eggs over, and breakfast is served. When hungry, lazy, short on time or a combination of these, even cold leftovers will do.

But sometimes, you just have to take the time to spoil yourself. These brownies are a good start.

paleo protein breakfast brownie.jpg


So what do we need?

  • 2 sweet potatoes, boiled or steemed: do this ahead of time so they can cool down
  • 5 eggs
  • 1,5 tablespoons of coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons of hemp protein powder (or another type of paleo protein powder)
  • 4 tablespoons of pure, unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil
  • Thickened apple-berry juice to sweeten

Do this:

  • Add ingredients to a blender. Push the button.
  • I’m not a bit afraid of raw egg, so I tasted my muffin batter to check if it was sweet enough. I don’t have a sweet tooth, but next time I make them for kids, I will be adding some more thickened juice.
  • Pour the batter into a muffin tin lined with baking paper or muffin tin liners or rub some melted butter into the molds to make your brownies come out easily. You could also do a batch in one large mold as well.
  • Bake at 180°C for about 25 minutes, or until they are firm. I have an oven with a dodgy thermostat so I need to wing it and keep a careful watch on my brownies.

paleo protein breakfast brownies.jpg

So that's it.

Hope you like'em!

Sort:  

Ondeugend ontbijtje :-) Breakfast, seriously? All respect and upvoted but paleo? :-). Ok, i admit, i die for a good brownie. I thought Dutch brownie recipes start with "Borrow some eggs...". You guessed it, i am Belgian :-)

So am I. Belgian I mean. And can you tell me which ingredient is not paleo? Always eager to learn. ;-)

Oops, let me excuse myself openly and griffed into the blockchain, this is 100% paleo!!! I should have looked at least to the ingredients, this is a super original recipe, sorry again eh, oops oops

You are very much forgiven. I really was curious if I missed something in there. hugs

I certainly like them. They're not super sweet but since I stopped eating sugar, I've found that sweet things are often too sweet for me now.

Mine too. You can't go wrong with chocolate. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54