Don't Care

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

don_t_care_by_sanderjansen-daap97g.png
Don't Care (2016)

Hello everyone! This is a painting finished in 2016 called " Don't Care". I made this with ballpoint pen, watercolors, markers, fineliner and acrylics and worked on it for maybe a year with breaks in between.

Maybe you have seen it before on Deviantart (will talk about that later) or on a photo from an exhibition but I didn't find the time and energy (until now) to post it here on Steemit and write about the process.

The idea came from a doodle sketch which was lying around for probably years. I really liked the expression and gesture the doodle had and it came back to me multiple times from the pile of sketches (big pile of cheap printer paper I use to draw nonsense). It really had a "I don't give a shit I go my way, bye" expression.

doodlethumbnail.jpg
Doodle on paper

Watercolors and Ballpoint pen
At the that time I was into doing ballpoint drawings and coloring them with watercolors and sort of my transition to colored works (next to acrylics). Finding my own workflow and tools that fit my style. Which I still keep doing and is more digital at the moment.

Here is an example of an artwork I did earlier:
awake_by_sanderjansen-d8vpr4x.jpg
Here is a link to that post: https://steemit.com/@sanderjansenart/awake

I really like doing detailed backgrounds with all kinds of characters although it takes a lot of time. But I liked how I could color them later and let things pop out by using a different color.

Background
So I started drawing the background with really small details. I started with fun but after a while (maybe months) it felt I would never finish it because it took forever and even after drawing for a day it didn't look like it had any progress. Well it did but I didn't see it. So I had to do other stuff to keep myself sane and the progress went even slower. Luckily I made progress shots at that time to show it on social media so I could give myself some peace not rushing it. And now I can use those shots to show you the progress a little bit :).

The next photo I left the ballpoint pen in it so you can see the exact size a bit more. I made it on A4 and used the brand "Canson".

11659437_998493113494184_5823296975296406054_n.jpg

I will show some more progress shots while I was working on the background. There is a lot of time between the shots. Even the desk changes and probably changed a couple work spaces as well....

11866251_1016196781723817_6488390125048129886_n.jpg

I had a small desk to work on when I started...

IMG-20150813-WA0002b.jpg

Finished linework
In the picture below I'm really close to finishing the linework. I couldn't find a version of the finished linework before I colored it. But when we have time machines I promise to go back in time and scan it before coloring it.
11866251_1016196781723817_6488390125048129886_n.jpg

Because I draw right handed the background kind of turned into some wave. I disliked it first but after a while I thought it would give it a cool effect and movement.

Coloring
When I was ready with the linework I could start doing the coloring. But damn that was scary....I could ruin it in a second, something I worked on for so long.....So I kept delaying it and eventually thought well it would be waste never finishing it so could ruin it anyway. I already thought about using red and blue so I started with that. It's a combination I used a lot and kind of my comfort.

DSC_0001.JPG

DSC_0002.JPG

You can see that in the meanwhile my desk changed into a glass desk...:D

DSC_0003.JPG

DSC_0004.JPG

I didn't use watercolor paper so it got a bit bubbly (is that a word?) but the paper was not so thin so it could manage the torture by water.

After I colored everything with watercolors I have to make new decisions. I wanted to add more different colors and I wanted to make the creature pop out. I decided to use markers for the tiny purple and pink tentacles and yellow eyes. Later I used darker purple on the tentacles because I wanted to put it more to the back of the artwork.

Acrylics
My experience with watercolors is that it isn't made for equal or homogeneous backgrounds. And I know acrylics could do that and also makes a thick layer to make it even pop out more from the background. So I colored the yellow creature with acrylics and made the eyes black with a fineliner (micron pen). I also used fineliner to make the outlines of the yellow creature thicker so it would popout even more.

DSC_0200.JPG

Finished artwork and the title
So after a year I finished it and was really excited about the artwork. Decided to call it "Don't Care" which was also song from the band "Obituary" but never mentioned that when I posted it online. If you listen to Death Metal you will probably know the song. That band and so many more were an inspiration when I was playing in a band myself (Verderf - Zombie Death Metal 2001 - 2009)....But I was listening a lot to the album "World Demise" and older ones when drawing the lines. And that title fits the artwork and the expression.


Don't Care by Obituary

Finished Artwork and Daily Deviation

don_t_care_by_sanderjansen-daap97g.png

Anyway my artwork got a Daily Deviation on Deviantart (September 2017) which was my second one. I was really happy with that (yeah still no DD's on my pencils works) and felt like it was worth it all. Here is the link to work on Deviant Art https://www.deviantart.com/sanderjansen/art/Don-t-Care-622636252 I posted it on July 19, 2016.

Here is a link to an older post about my first DD: https://steemit.com/drawing/@sanderjansenart/socialization

Prints
I never sell the original but the prints are as amazing as well.
If you are interested in buying high quality prints you can order them from my website: www.sanderjansen.net.

Also selling other prints and some cool looking shirts.

Well that was about it, really hope you like this post? Took me a while to find all the photos and to write. Sorry for any mistakes as English isn't my main language and I'm very chaotic in writing or reading ;) But I tried my best :D

thanksforeverything-sanderjansen.png

Sort:  

Unbelievable how talented you are. Those details you have there, so nice! And it doesn't even look like a drawing with markers etc, when I look at the end result it really feels like you added the yellow creature digitally lol.. I am so happy for you you got the curie vote here..
Great post! Great art! Great artist!

Aww thank you so much @anouk.nox! yeah the yellow with acrylics really worked but was scary to try out because you can't undo that ;)

Really glad all the effort got rewarded this time :)

This is amazing, Sander * ___ * All that details <3 the faces of the mass in blues and reds are so expressive in their horde-ness, almost moving as one giant whirlwind, the mass, the mass !!! i can feel the force and the currents of everyone moving together, all that pressure of conforming and of being harmonious with everyone else ....!!!

and then ! the single character in the middle ! with that pose !!! AND WITH THAT FACE ! you definitely nailed the title so well <3 this yellow guy flew in the face of the mass' movements, all of the entirety of him, screaming: "DONT CARE!"

XD

Amazing! I love it!

it is very expressive and very well made <3 Gorgeous work, Sander <3

Wow what a great comment again @veryspider I love it :)

Thank you so much!

Omg, just amazing <3
the details, the time used, the technique, just really, really cool :D
and the color and expression of the yellow friend really contrast with the background, like: "mep, i don't really care" xD, great work my friend

Thank you so much @edanya for the kind words! :D

I love this pice of art...so much going on in this 👌

Thank you very much @bronkong! :D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 165 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Beautiful work, I like your little background details, I also have had problem with watercolor and prefer Acrylic due to intense color and beautiful homogenous layer.

Thank you very much @stef1! Yeah acrylics are great I like working with them as they dry up fast too so you can work faster than with oils :) But I hope to work with oil paint too in the future.

Damn i love your Art really!!

Thank you so much for the big compliment @theonlywalker! :D

This post has received a 6.77 % upvote from @boomerang.

What an amazing work! The level of detail in the background is insanely good! Excellent job! 😃

Thank you very much! :D

Hi sanderjansenart,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow thank you so much for the upvote and support @curie! Made my day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43