Painting, it's hard to explain

in #painting7 years ago

So, I had a goodt day at the studio yesterday - the more splatter on arms the better.

I continued on this large piece i started few weeks ago. It's very difficult sometimes to decide on a direction. I don't really plan ahead at the beginning of a painting, or make sketches, for me painting is very much about what is happening in that moment on canvas and in my head. Before and after a session there is a lot of staring happening, trying to figure out where the painting could go from there or should it stay like that.

The direction that follows happens sometimes just when i step in front of the canvas and start going through the paint tubes on my messy palette table and just pick a color or two. To put that choice simply: If i'm feeling nice i may pick something that works well with what is in there already and if i'm feeling shitty then it might something else. Sometimes it is just random. Then it's time to pick a brush and start painting.

I have a very wasteful method of pouring turpentine on the lump of color then mixing it loosely with the brush so some of the lumpynes remains in the paint. With the loaded brush i then strike the canvas to a spot that needs it which is often just an intuitive choice. I usually stick with one brush on a layer, and try to bring variety with different lengths or speed or pressure of the stroke, with different angles and twist and so on, following current emotion.

The thin paint ofcourse does not stick and record everything as it is but trickles down and the paint splatters around with the more forceful strokes. This randomness along with my intended strokes is something that i react to after every stroke.

The scene keeps changing, while on some level you are enjoying the thrill of the action and dripping paint, another part is observing the situation and trying to keep things in control so that the result is interesting™. I like to leave the painting at an awkward state for next time, but it might be ready when i return.

Sort:  

I like the style, it's wonderful
Thank you very much for this post.

The love I have for paintings is boundless.. this is an awesome piece. Very wonderful, hopefully waiting for more of this

Thank you very much @vickyy sure there will be more, I will be painting as long as i can :)

I really like this kind of "making of" posts by fellow artists.
The details already look quite interesting, but the unfinished state really wants me to jump in and continue working on it ;-)
It actually lets me think about starting a new art-contest, where a travelling artwork is passed from one steemit artist to another and everybody adds just a personal layer to it. I don't know, if this would work, but I like the idea. Thanks for the inspiration and keep it up!

Thanks! That is a good idea, i was thinking like digital version of that before but irl collab like that would be really be awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49