Ezis

in #painting5 years ago


“Ezis” in Latvian means hedgehog

In other words, I am slightly homesick. I miss waking up with a curious bird knocking on my window and kitty snoring cuddled at my feet. Sitting by the round table with a cup of mud in my hand and hearing granny’s radio blasting somewhere outside the house where she is working away gardening. I miss our conversations about why we are here, the universe and beyond and occasionally how nothing really matters. Hugs and being silly together. I miss turning a landfill into a beautiful garden full of green and healthy plants and soil on my fingertips. Walking by the lake surrounded by forest and feeling the peaceful feeling of belonging. Soon I’m going home!

Listening to Instrumenti and their deeply layered lyrics brought me all the feels of home and the spark to be creative and paint this tiny, spiky critter on 20 x 30 cm canvas using tempera colors this time. I find working with tempera colors a lot more enjoyable than the fast drying, unforgiving acrylics. At least for now as I still haven’t quite figured out the latter.







I think I overdid it with the sketch a little? I poked the canvas with a 2B pencil for a few good hours knowing I would still paint over it with tempera. I simply couldn’t stop.



Spikety spike, spike! Top eža kažociņš or the coat of the hedgehog is being created! Layered different tones in there with some sharp brush strokes.









I can’t help, but go aww when I look at it myself. What about you? So, so happy how it turned out!

Song of the day: Instrumenti - Mēs Tiksimies Gaisā (Please, watch the video! It is a treat ^^)

Tik stipri cik toreiz
Toreiz ir tagad
Tepat un joprojām
Mēs tiksimies gaisā…

As strong as back then
Back then is now
Right here and still
We will meet in the air…
- Instrumenti -

Sort:  

I went ahead and fixed the hedgehog for you, you know, to help show a realistic portrayal of how hedghies actually are. Hope you enjoy :)

Ahahah! This made me laugh out loud xD Can't be they are so mean little buggers, are they? The ones that I've seen in wild seemed quite gentle souls. Maybe your pet hedgy is possessed?

Thank you for making me laugh!

It's honestly very rare for a domesticated one to be chill/nice, at least in our experience. I've talked with several other hedgehog owners and their hogs are very similar to ours where they are quite grouchy and nervous. So, yeah, they're mostly sentient cactus monsters that are adorable.

You're welcome for the laugh. But, that laugh is going to cost you $5. You can pay this either via Chuck E Cheese tokens, or in nuclear wasteland bottlecaps. Perhaps transferred via carrier pigeons.

Your grouchy cactus monster runs around freely at the house? How did you decide you wanted a pet hedgy anyway?

Haven't heard much of pet hedgehogs around here. Only that people sometimes feed the wild ones with some milk.

sends a scruffy looking pigeon with the bribe for more laughs

Freely around the house? What do you think I am, some sort of masochistic troglodyte? That would be very similar to a lovecraftian nightmare, imagine stepping on lego's, except that they pierce your foot and cause hives. That's what would happen if we let her run wild, on the account of her being a monster.

We usually just keep her in a fish tank and then take her out and put her into a storage bin to run around/run on a wheel and play with her. And, yeah, there are a few different species of hog, I think the one in the wild is different than what we have. (She's an African Pigmy Hedgehog)

What, you think this is a motherfucking game? How am I supposed to pay my bills with imaginary fun money? You ain't getting shit until this pigeon gets his/her ass to my window.

Tavs ezis ir ļoti burvīgs!  It's the second cutest little hedgehog I've seen. (Sorry, tempera hedgy! You are extremely adorable but my heart will always belong to Lily! ^_^)

The in-progress pictures were cool to see (that is a really detailed sketch, seems more of just a drawing, lol). Nice artistic photos of the paints and brushes too, they really enhance the creative mood.

I am sorry that you are missing home so much but I'm glad you'll soon be there. Seems like it's where you belong, at least most of the time. I'm excited to see what you'll create and share once you are there! I, for one, hope to maybe see some more posts about the tiny garden? ^_^

You have amaaaaazing grandma if you got that kind of talks with her! Lucky you!

It feels like your home is in some kind of elf country :)

Btw great painting. I know I have to send you my art. Will do, soon as I remember to find them. Ugh time, it flies so fast.

Stay strong Andro and soon you will go to your la la land :))

Posted using Partiko Android

Those talks I have with most of my family. They are pretty awesome ^^

Ahaha! Elf country, that is exactly what it is! Forests, lakes, rivers, meadows, swamps and just aaah green everything and I miss it so much.

Yes. I am still waiting and would love to see them. Hope you find them and if not you really should try and make some new whack art!

Thank you for your support Mr. Spacely! Really appreciate it! :)

Lol. This was a long time ago xD added colors in photoshop or some kind of app that was popular 10 years ago xD

Posted using Partiko Android

Chilling by the pool, nice ^^

Is that the pool from your backyard?

No, just some random pic. Do I need to source it xD

Posted using Partiko Android

Source: random pic of internetz from 2009 xD
Disclaimer: fan art

Ahaha!

Ah lucky you. I don't even have friend to talk about that xD all good :))

W8, I think I can find one fun piece. It is on my old fb account, just remembered while typing this.

Lemme see if I can find it :) but nothing special, just fun as always

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice looking little hedgehog! Don't kiss it, though. Apparently, that's a thing.

Tempora, eh? Is it still made by grinding pigment into egg? I made the mistake of selecting oils over acrylics, when I took painting class as an undergraduate. They looked amazing, but waiting days between coats of paint interfered with other coursework.

What a cute shape! I love this work.

Something's, memories or time or moment are just missed

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

@m31 Such amazing photographs of your paintings, specially Aperture Settings😊i love the white brush strokes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed this. Your art is really amazing btw :)

Seriously you are going home? I don't blame you really as you must be homesick. Can't believe you haven't found a real hedgehog yet. Look around on rubbish day when the black bags are out. They make holes in the bottom and they are fairly quick.

Greetings, Beautiful hedgehog, has a tender look.You paint very well, I like it. :)

Greetings to you too and thank you for your kind words. Glad you like it! It was a great fun to paint it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37