You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❁ Lady Belladonna ❁

in #painting6 years ago

Aww, such elegance and beauty! ^.^ OMG, reminds me so much of the characters from Jane Austin's books! Amazing, @scrawly!
Well done! <3 Excellent composition, pose and color palette! <3 ^.^

PS: I'm also very happy that you picked that name Amaryllis, it has a special meaning that dates back from the Greeks. They pronounced the flowers Amarullis which means “splendor” or “sparkling”. The Romans then borrowed the Greek word and turned into the Latin Amaryllis. After that was rediscovered through the Victorian era. For the Victorian gentlemen, an amaryllis means a strong, self-confident and very beautiful woman. ;)

I'm really sorry if I've over-explained. ^^' I love researching the meaning of the flowers, because I also borrowed that name for one of my characters. ;)

Sort:  

Whoa your very thorough explanation is awesome! Do not apologise, I really like reading about your great knowledge about flowers and words and their history.

And a name of your character? I wanna see this beauty ^^.

Thank you again, katalina <3.

You're very welcome, @scrawly! ^.^ Your artwork can be very inspiring, so the credit goes to you. ;)
I'm more like a bookworm, haha. XD But it's the way I am - always prefer to do some research before commenting on something. ;)

Her name is also Amaryllis, but she's not entirely human. ^.^
https://steemit.com/steemartists/@katalinaooma/amaryllis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57592.54
ETH 2911.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67