Star Wars Millennium Falcon Wooden Model: Painting Finished!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #painting7 years ago

I finished the paint and I'm pretty happy with the way it turned out. A realistic, weathered appearance was achieved, and I added a little Sabine Wren tag on the bottom. If you don't know who Sabine Wren is, I guess we can still be friends. I guess. Watch Star Wars Rebels. That is all.

For background on the project see my previous post part one. Here are some pictures of the final product below and then the painting process. The model itself was just a little wooden die cut model I got for $15usd. The painting was the fun part.

falcon model.jpg

Here's the process below from start to finish. To get the weathered look, I basically painted the colors between 3 or 4 laters of gray and white, adding some charcoal powder at the end to add to the weathered look.

Materials: Gray, white, yellow, orange spray paint. Black, gray, purple, red paint pens. charcoal powder kit, xacto knife, mini-tip paint brush, part stands, q-tips.

As you can see above, the support sticks with clamps are really convenient for painting. I put a base coat of metallic gray on the wood first. A nice picture of the parts where I painted and dried them on my balcony(Shenzhen and SZ Bay in the distance).

Above you can see in the top left where the colors are fresh in the first layer, then I sprayed a light coat of white over them, added color again, then white again, a little gray, more color detail, especially black to add weathering around the edges and in the cracks and line features. Then finally adding the powder to create a more realistic weathered look. Han Solo don't care about washing no ship. He's too busy being awesome. It's about not just adding the right colors, but making them look faded, worn, and dirty like the real ship would be.

Finally, on the back side there's no real detail in the model, so I just made the panels look worn and weathered on the edges with a similar process to the top. Then I added the starbird tag and Sabine Wren style used in Star Wars Rebels, which you should watch if you haven't it will make your life better.

03ef198563a808662a0e4878fcd2ee49137d807a_hq.gif

Hope you enjoyed!

current cryptastic sig2.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! My boys would just love to hang out with you for a day...or three.
Good one fellow MAW member. I like it!

It's creative! You have a very wide wide mind to do this :)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

It looks really good, you did well to get the colours so close to the real thing. I have watched all the Star Wars rebel series, although I prefer the early ones to be honest.

same here, but the latest one was good i thought

That turned out great, the way it is built you could totally smuggle stuff in it!

i might just be smuggling a princess or two

Waooo, I'm really impressed. Congratulations

nice thanks for sharing

sure, thanks,

OMG WOW !!!! Upvote and Follow :D !!

You are more then Welcome visit to My Page its about {Art and Drawing 😊}

I will thanks

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptastic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77