With Inspiration from a Fellow STEEMIAN I Am Off On A New Project.. [Part 2]

in #painting6 years ago

It's Been Almost 30 Days ..

Since I found a bit of inspiration from a Steemit friend, @daveks and embarked on the start of another sunset painting. Today, I AM OFFICIALLY FINISHED!!!!! YayYayYay...!

I Introduce To You ..

'Sunset Over The Farm'

IMG_9769.JPG

Original Photo Of Inspiration ..


Photo by @daveks - Sunset

I received permission ..

From @daveks to use his photo for inspiration and he agreed! Although looking at the end result here, you may not see a ton of similarities. To me inspiration comes from almost everything I interact with in my daily routine. I gather that inspiration and let it guide my artisitic visions. I'd rather my work NOT be a duplicate version of what inspired me, but rather an interpretation of how it made me feel. This is exactly how this photo by @daveks influenced this piece.

If you study the two pieces side by side, what I took away from his photo slowly reveal themselves..

  • The colors .. although possibly not as bold, they are there
  • The purples, yellows, blues, and dark gray tones
  • The tree line
  • The siloettes
  • The low horizon line
  • The Farm Inspiration

I got carried away with the clouds. I have a problem with this. I always go for a more dramatic sky even though I truly believe that less is more. I just have a hard time sticking to that small piece of advice (at least when painting). I decided to go with farm buildings instead of the tractor. That would have been a nice touch, but not sure my version of a tractor would of looked right or believable.

From Start To Finish ..

I'll somewhat summarize my Part 1 post first, then blend in the new stuff since then (27 days ago). I will call them 'Steps', even though there are so many more in between these. If I documented every one of them, we would be here for a long time.

Step 1 ..

I choose the right size painting surface. I went with Masonite for this one primarily because it is my favorite choice of surface and secondly, I have a bunch of pieces cut to size and ready to go. This painting measures 24 inches wide by 12 inches high. I have it set up on my home made drafting/easel that I made many a year ago. I can lock the painting surface down, have it just resting on a ledge and adjust the angle however I see fit. It works perfectly for my needs (thus the reason I made one instead of buying one .. plus cheaper. hahaha).

Step 2 ..

I scrape the old paint away. Time For You To GO!! gone. I prefer to mix my paints on glass. Glass is easy to clean and paint seems to blend well on it. The piece of glass you see here is from an old entertainment center I threw out a while back. It is about 10"x18" and sits nicely on my table. Not so easy to hand hold so I have a smaller tiny piece I use for that. I grab a hold of my razor blade (I buy these in bulk) and start removing the half dry and half wet paint from the glass. Pretty easy with a nice sharp blade.

Step 3 ..

I clean up all the little bits of paint and scrapings left behind. I do this with a rag or paper towel and a tiny bit of paint thinner. I absolutely hate it when tiny pieces of dried old paint make there ways into my painting. Then I have to sit there and try to delicately pick them out. Who has time for that! ha! So I take my time cleaning the palette now. The blue paint you see is actually under the glass and dried onto the table. Most likely from one of my Caribbean paintings.

Step 4 ..

Now that I have managed to gather some inspiration, set up my painting surface, and have a nice clean palette in order to mix my paints, I am ready to start the painting. I pencil in where I want my horizon line to be and that's about it for sketching and guidance. The rest will just have to flow naturally. I use a base value of Titanium White. I have no clue why. I just know I like the way the paint flows after I use this as a base. I am self taught with no schooling, so be easy on me if your reading this and were educated in the field. (please give me advise if you are or are not, that I love) I often use Linseed Oil or paint thinner to help give my paint more flexibility and movement. I recently started using the linseed oil. So far I like it and it doesn't add that much more time to the drying process.

I'm now 'Off To The Races' on this one. There's no turning back now..
I dip my brush .. no clue what this brush is called but its a bit wide and gives me the strokes I am looking for .. into the Titanium White and start applying it. I always like to work from the background to the foreground. So I will start with the sky, which will also be the largest portion of this painting. Here we gooooooo.....

Steps 1, 2, 3 and 4

JoinedPhotoSunsetOverFarm1.jpg

Step 5 ..

Now that I have the basic idea coming to life in my mind and have the first few brush strokes of Titanium white laid out, I feel confident and relaxed. I am moving onward to brushing in how I want the sky to fall in around the clouds, thus creating the areas for the clouds. This may be a strange way to go about it, but it works for me.
IMG_9515.JPG

Step 6 ..

After the majority of the first layer of Titanium White is down, I go ahead and introduce some other colors. In this case I am using Violet and Cobalt Blue Hue. I often like using the tips of my fingers to blend the paint into the painting surface. I fingerprint will most likely be missing for a few days (due to the constant friction), but it will grow back. Sometimes it can be a bit too abrasive to do this.
IMG_9517.JPG

Step 7 ..

Add more White, Violet, Blue and then blend more and more and more...
IMG_9519.JPG

Step 8 ..

I'll be using Naples Yellow Light and Cadmium Yellow for the yellows of the sunset. I just place a tad bit along the bottom of the painting. I am only using my fingers right now.
IMG_9520.JPG

Step 9 ..

I move on to placing in and building up the clouds. I am using the Cobalt Blue Hue and Violet along with some Ivory Black. While doing this, I lay in where I want the sun to be dipping below the horizon as well as a few rays shooting up through the clouds. As you can see here, I have been layering in more of the yellows of the sunset and define my landscape with a nice layer of Black! Ouch..Hope its where I want it. Hard to move it after it there. I'm happy with where it sits at this point.
Joined picSunsetoverfarm2.jpg

The paints I am using ..

I thought I would quickly throw in a pic of the paint I am using for this painting and a shot of my glass palate.
joined photoofpaintsunsetfarm.jpg

Step 10 ..

Here I am adding in some bits of interest within the landscape. This will be similar to the inspiration photo by @daveks (see top of post). I like the way the tree line is minimal, to the edges, and flows inward as depicted in the photo. Everything is sort of guiding your eye toward the star of the show..the Sun setting.
IMG_9527.JPG

Step 11 ..

I'm adding in the buildings. I went with buildings instead of the tractor. It's just what I decided to do. Maybe some day I will practice drawing mechanical farm equipment so that I can incorporate that into another painting.
IMG_9546.JPG

Step 12 ..

There is a lot of little steps in here that I will skip. Basically building in layers, shading, highlighting, yada yada.. After Highlighting the buildings and tips of trees, as seen here ...
JoinedPhotoSunsetOverFarm4.jpg
... I realize that I don't like the shade of the yellow in the overall painting. I re-blend a shade that appeals to me and slowly work this in and over what I already applied. Took a few hours to do this, but I was satisfied with the end results. When It dried (things change as it dries - colors darken or lighten, colors bleed through - stuff like that) I couldn't of been happier.

Step 13 ..

Lucky Step 13! But I won't end on that note. Its dry enough for my signature, so in it goes!! I pick a color that won't stand out too much. Usually one of the colors I used creating the painting. Naples Yellow Light mixed with a bit of Linseed Oil.
IMG_9754.JPG

Step 14 ..

It's Finished!!!!!!! After a few weeks I will take it out doors and apply three coats of a sealer in order to help protect it from UV light, fading and dust. It will smell like a pine tree for a few weeks. At least that's what I think it smells like.
IMG_9769.JPG

What a fun painting to paint! ..

I enjoyed the process and hope you did as well. If you have any pointers, advise or criticism, I am open to it. Please feel free to comment them below.

JoinedPhotoSunsetOverFarm5.jpg

Thanks @daveks for taking such a beautiful picture and allowing me to squeeze some inspiration from it!

Now on to the next one :-)

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

This painting (Eventually) along with other works can be found for sale in my Facebook Shop: https://www.facebook.com/pg/BDMillerGallery/shop

OR

Make me an offer (in SBD) in the comments section of this post. I will consider all offers.

If we agree on a price, you can transfer the SBD to my wallet. I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location and also payable in SBD).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

;-)

Untitled.jpg

~Logo Art by BDMiller~

Sort:  

Hi bdmillergallery,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you Curie Community for your generous support! I am thrilled you all appreciate my work. :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Love the painting! I think I have seen that exact sky a few times here just south of Tulsa, Oklahoma. Really like how it isn't a exact copy of your inspiration - that could just get boring. Great work!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Friday/Early Saturday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Holy Cow! This sounds awesome!!! I will email you.

I never was big on copying an image or scene. I became to frustrating for me. It's much more satisfying for me to just go with the flow. Sometimes I just paint from my imagination..which is also cool. As I start the painting, I am never sure where it will end up. I was truly inspired by the photo by @daveks, but I am sure somewhere in the back of my memory, I too have seen a sunset or two just like this here in South Jersey. I have really enjoyed my time here on Steemit and am happy with the community support and inspiration they have been more than willing to supply. I feel like part of the family.

Just South of Tulsa?? Sounds like a place I need to plan a trip to. If this picture somewhat reminds you of the area..then count me in! We are surrounded by farms. I wouldn't have it any other way. So much inspiration around me.

🎉 Congratulations @bdmillergallery! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Awesome! Thank you so much..This is very cool.

Really nice and dramatic sky painting, BDMiller !! Love the colours and the step by step is very great too <3 I also always appreciate when I'm inspired by other artists :D it's a great way to connect to the world and to others <3

I am still very new to steemit, but I believe what you’re saying whole heartedly. I love this community! Is the first time I felt at home somewhere. Thank you for checking It out and appreciating my work. It means a lot.

Congrats on your well deserved Curie!!

I saw this post resteemed and it really caught my eye.... That sky, oh my! That movement and perfect balance and combination of colour, brought back images of stunning sunsets! And I swear I saw the clouds move. Such a lively and vibrant painting.

Awe... Thanks so much for this thoughtful note. I am soooooo happy that it caught your eye. I love painting skies. They don't always come out perfectly (in my eyes) but I love painting them. Still learning and picking up a few techniques here and there.

Your comment is more inspiring than you know. It will help keep me going and keep me inspired to paint another one. Thanks!!

;) Keep 'em coming, and enjoy your explorations.

Thanks! I will most certainly try :-)

Wow even though the picture and painting are not identical I think your painting is stunning.. great job

I very much appreciate the compliments! I dislike duplicating something I see..its more fun to let the painting go where it wants to. Thanks for reading the post and taking the time to post your thoughts. Have a great day @anouk.nox :-)

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great job! It’s amazing how just one photo can spark the creative juices!
One thing I’ve really never tried is painting. Maybe I’ll have to give it a go sometime. Something tells me though I ought to stick with just the camera stuff!

Haha..You never know..

Great artwork :))

Why Thank You. I appreciate you reading the post.. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67