AFTERNOON PADDLE

in #paddlewithme6 years ago (edited)

Paddling down the Carmans River in the afternoon. First thing I see is a big turtle sunning himself on a log.

DSCN0437.JPG

DSCN0438.JPG

They usually jump in the water when any humans are present. But this old guy must have gotten use to all the Kayak and canoe traffic.

DSCN0439.JPG

About a mile down the river I spot a swan sitting on her nest. I just happened to glance in that direction or I would have missed her.

DSCN0440.JPG

DSCN0441.JPG

DSCN0442.JPG

My real target are getting some pictures of the Osprey and possibly the Eagles. But the camera I have does not have a range finder, just a rear screen that you can't see anything in with the bright sunlight.

There are many nesting Osprey in the area so seeing them won't be a problem. Getting close enough will be. This trip I didn't come back with any noteworthy photos. Maybe next time.

#paddlewithme is an inspiration from @lynsaybowes #walkwithme

Sort:  

No noteworthy photos? I couldn't disagree more. I have never seen a swan sitting on her nest and it is awesome. And you know how much I love to see those big turtles. I have the same problem on sunny days with the camera. Your photos are great. : )

I meant Osprey photos hard to get. ::-))

Ok...that makes sense now. Sorry about that.

I have never seen a swan nesting! How cool! The osprey are so amazingly built, some like fortresses.

Better luck next time!

Tip!

I have a picture of one on a nest. She scolded me when I got to close. Thanks for being so generous with your voting. :-)

You are so welcome!

They can get pretty mean! Watch those wings!

I know the swans can attach you. I was wondering about the Osprey.

I'm very glad to see pictures of the real nature. Well done.

Hello @ manorvillemike ... I see that you are an expert in the use of Kayak and canoe ... that is a great tool that will allow you to get great photos ... the photos that you presented are very good because they are being taken within the natural habitat of animals...it's like giving life to the photos ... Very good idea.
Greetings.

I am amateur with kayak. But thanks for making me an expert. :-)

Mind you that turtle is big!
I have never seen nesting swan before. How nice is to see them in their natural environment.

Would be nice to see them with their babies but DEC likes to control their population by destroying most of their eggs.

You like paddling so far? Nice shots. Always makes me want to get a nice telephoto lens.

I diffidently need some better camera equip. to get decent pictures. Was trying to take some video of the Osprey. Not easy without a reflex or view finder.

I miss my canoeing and kayaking days. My home remodel project took over my life. But I still have both my Grumman canoe and my little kayak, so some day I will get back on the water.

I'm an old man and just had my first kayak ride a few weeks ago. Then I went out and bought one. Great fun and plenty of places to explore.

Hi! Anytime you capture animals in photos is noteworthy.

These are serene and natural and pretty

Thanks, glad you appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83