OVERCOME YOUR DEPRESSION

in #overcomedepression6 years ago (edited)

First of all, what is depression?
SplitShire-0514.jpg

According to google the definition of depression is – a feeling of severe despondency and dejection.
But sometimes we don’t even realise that our minds are in this state. So how do we know that we’re depressed or are slowly going into a depressive state of mind?

Feelings! Ever feel - misery, sadness, unhappiness, sorrow, woe, gloom, dejection, downheartedness, despondency, dispiritedness, low-spirited, discouragement, despair, isolated and hopeless. If so, then yes that is a form of depression.

The root behind depression is thoughts and self-image. Anyone can fall into depression and it’s so easy to find yourself stuck in this situation thinking there’s a point of no return. Well, I’m here to show you a way out of it!

So sit back and get ready to feel joyful and happy about life once again!

SELF IMAGE

It’s only natural that we are hard on ourselves and we don’t see our achievements as much. Do you know why? I’ll tell you - we are constantly comparing our lives, as well as ourselves to others. This can become an addiction and can lead you to depression but it can also uplift you and encourage you to higher your standards to achieving more.
But isn’t it much easier to put yourself down than lift yourself and prove that you can be as great as everyone on your instagram feed?

That’s where self-image comes in! Let’s try an exercise, grab a notebook and pen. Ask a few of your close friends or family members to describe you. Note this down.
Then in your home find a quiet place to spend some time with yourself, play relaxing music and start jotting down your strengths and achievements. Such as, finishing school, having friends who are good to you, getting your drivers license, being the best mom you can be/ or dad, getting your degree, going to study after years of working, your job and even the people in your life that you cannot live without these are all strengths and good achievements.
2017-02-06-roman-drits-barnimages-005-770x513.jpg

Once you’re done, read the list you have created and I’m sure you’ll realise that you can come up with positive ideas just as fast as you can come up with negative ideas.

Thoughts

I can’t count or estimate how many times I’ve fallen into the trap of negative thoughts. But I’ve realised how it all starts. Either you’re uncomfortable physically or mentally.
So examples of physical discomfort - I’ve realised if I’m cold I get miserable and if I just sit there with no socks, a short sleeved shirt in the wind I start to hate the wind then these thoughts come to my mind.

“Why does it have to be so damn cold, why can’t we have tropical weather?”

“I hate the wind.”

“I hate that this area has so much wind!”

Well Duuuh! You live by the beach Zilke!

So I’ve realised instead of going on about how the wind is not my best friend, I lift myself and head to my room, adjust my feet with some warm socks and cover my arms with my jersey. This example could be used for anything like sitting in traffic, waiting in a que at the shopping mall.

Even if someone says something nasty to you then you’ll start to create mental discomfort within yourself. You’ll start to doubt yourself and put yourself down even more by just one comment some individual has to say about you.

STOP and catch yourself when this happens and reinforce your mind with lovely thoughts about you. “I am a great cook.” , “I am a good parent.” , “I am a joyful happy human being, who is comfortable with my flaws and knows that nobody is perfect.”

Make these affirmations a habit and soon you’ll find it easy to trick your mind into thinking more positively.
41c785ce422e6ed52136649855a2980ea3580db7.jpeg

ONE MORE THING
No one can overcome depression unless they want to! Choosing to be a more happy and healthy person is a big step and it takes lots of responsibility.

I’ll be having much more blogs on the topic of depression. This one has inspired me so much on how teens can get over depression and what parents can do to help them.

Thank you for taking your time to reading this article. Please remember, I am no doctor or psychologist. I am just sharing what I have learnt and what works for me. I hope this helps you or anyone you know.

xoxo

Sort:  

Upvoted. Love your big heart, pun intended. Yes, catch yourself when you are thinking. Focus on your story, especially when you are down. When we try to compare ourselves to others, we can get out of context. Different people are different, like comparing apples with oranges sometimes. I can compare myself to Michael Jordan when playing basketball and that can make me depress. Better yet, I can focus on making progress each week, and focus on that.

I'm 33 now and I am getting back in shape and I can compare my basketball skill now with my own self from years ago, like ten years ago, and that could make me sad. But I can catch myself and focus on being happy and in what I can do now as I get back in shape. The comparing aspect is dangerous sometimes. Thanks for writing. I like your post here.

So true yes! We should put all that energy into positive actions and thoughts. I'm so glad you enjoyed this post.

Congratulations @zilkewhyte! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37