Will Steam Accept Steem As Currency? (It's Something Like Bitcoin) - sent email to Valve Corporation

in #outreach8 years ago

Dear Gabe Newell,

I'm Kevin, and I've been using your products since Half Life. I don't play as much anymore, unfortunately, but I've always liked to support indie games and even check out the latest AAA-games once in a while.

To my delight, I found out that Steam now accepts Bitcoin. So I just bought a game with 6.99 USD worth of Bitcoin.

Where did I get the Bitcoin from? Here's the magic - I blogged about the Steam platform, and earned a bunch of cryptocurrency called Steem. I think it's rather fascinating and revolutionary. Steemit is the platform that I blogged with.

Please consider Steem (we also have something called Steem-backed Dollars). You can check out my silly article here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@kevinwong/submit-steemit-to-the-steam-platform-because-why-not

Have a look around, and start your account as well - try it out!

I will post about what I wrote to you. My handle is @kevinwong on Steemit.

Regards
Kevin.



Well, let's hope he responds. Do you have a better way to do this?

Image is not mine. Found here.


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Steem has the exact same problem that Bitcoin did back in the day, it's so new and uncertain it needs to get small scale adoption and to hold value before they'll even consider adapting it to steam.

For what it's worth, I've signed up with coinpayments and on my site have many altcoin options available for when my game releases including Steem, since I'd be totally happy if people just dumped their altcoins on me and have more to gain if I get attention for altcoin adoption.

For what it's worth, I've signed up with coinpayments and on my site have many altcoin options available for when my game releases including Steem, since I'd be totally happy if people just dumped their altcoins on me and have more to gain if I get attention for altcoin adoption.

Exactly this!

Steem on Steam! What a concept! I think it would be great if they'd go for this. There's good mileage to be gained from the marketing gimmick alone. It would be cool to essentially write a Steemit post and get paid with a game!

Maybe they should accept SBD as a form of payment? SBD offers them something that bitcoin (or really any other crypto for that matter) can not, price consistency. The peg of 1 SBD = 1 USD makes it a great option for them to accept.

Yup! I just didn't want to mention to many Steem variations in such an email! Lol, but yeap, the peg is way more appealing :)

SteemDollars might have maybe been a better idea because of the volatility but I appreciate your efforts! Hopefully we'll be on there soon enough! (took bitcoin forever)

Yup, SBDs would be a better way to convince. Hopefully the peg will prove to be low maintenance over the long run :)

That is a great idea... the more of these kinds of things we send out to people the better!

Since I'll be free in December, I'm gonna do some of these marketing stuff on platforms. 20-80 rule. Just go for the founders of the platform lol

I like it! :)

Imagine if gamers would come to know about this. They could earn steem or sbd on steemit and use it on steam! It's like talking about the future!

Yeah write your game review / guide / tutorial whatever, and just earn a little of something.. then buy your game lol

Yeah, life would be so much easier! ;)

Good work @kevinwong and way to be proactive!

I think you did a good job with it!

Let's hope we'll be seeing his intro post popping up somewhere around here soon ;)

That's what I'm talking about!

If he shows, I'll mail him a shirt too!

Great idea! Lets hope it get the attention

One of the things that I've been considering for a while is selling some of my inventory games (some of them were gratis, other spurchased as gift thing) for Steem/SBD. :-D

I think that'll be harder to happen, but still possible!

Nope, I'll just have to list them on Peerhub, or something. But since people have no reason to trust me, we need an escrow, but other than that...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51