You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pantheon of Rome, Italy

in #outofthinair5 years ago

"In fact, the concept of a pantheon dedicated to all the gods is questionable.'
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pantheon,_Rome

With so many different views people have on what and who god is, I also find this concept odd, that the pantheon was dedicated to all of the Gods.
Great idea breaking up all of the material you have gathered into several posts.
The last thing you would want to happen would be for people to just rush through a post of this magnitude, attention span, attention span.

There are really no words to describe what you have shared with us in this post.
The one word that comes to mind that would even come close is extraordinary.
The craftsmanship involved with building structures like the Pantheon of Rome always flabbergasts me.
You wonder if it would even be possible for a structure of this magnitude to be built in the present time. For some reason I doubt it.
If I read it correctly in the link you provided, this structure only took 41 years to complete, that's if my math is correct 27 BC to 14 AD.
The selfie section is hilarious, especially the 5th picture.
And then you have the young lady that just couldn't get enough photos of herself.
Take off the glasses girl, and you will be able to see what the heck your taking pictures of, besides yourself.

Presently negative 1 degree outside, since that is a little cold I wont be attempting to do much outside today, so keep them coming, I'm having a ball!

Sort:  

I’m back. You’re in luck sir, that’s “you’re in” not urine. I just released The Vatican last night—man, Wait’ll you see that joint! What I meant by urine you’re in luck is the cold weather gives you an excuse to stay inside. I got so much metal in my leg, any geographic location outside of California hurts. All.the.time!

About the construction. Being a tradesman yourself, I’ll voice my opinion. Dude, I don’t think an unreinfinforced dome of that size would be possible today. If not for the fact engineering is incapable, certainly for the fact the contractor wouldn’t profit all the way to the bank during the construction phase. The man power and ingenuity required actually gives me a headache just thinking about. Crazy! This is another one of those articles that I didn’t know specifics on, that one in particular, until I researched the facts. Now I have to go back and see it again. Incredible engineering! 41 years.. how did they do that?!

I silently whispered the song to Pura while we were inside “I wear my sunglasses at night so I can, so I can...” and then I really got sidetracked just taking pictures of people taking pictures of themselves. Pura began to get embarrassed like “stop it! They’re gonna see you!!” Dude, that’s funny. It’s a good thing I didn’t notice until after I pictured the joint for you because it completely changed the view from my camera lens. Too much fun when they make it so easy.

As per usual, you really let me know how much you appreciate what I’m doing (or think I’m doing) around here by leaving such a detailed response. I can’t type THANK YOU big enough. More to come, Rob, the pleasure is all mine and it’s always a nice surprise to wake up to your responses.

See you soon.

Sincerely,
The Luckiest Guy I Know

You're like a walking jukebox. I wear my sunglasses at night, original by Cory hart, another great tune.

Just added this one to my play list.

Matter of fact, I just started a new folder and named it The Big Ear. This folder will include music that you have added to your posts. I have quit an extensive library, but you keep coming up with some golden oldies that have slipped my mind.

I hear you with metal in the leg. Artificial hip and all, with another hip and two knees to go, which I've been putting off for over two years now, we may have to compare notes one day.

You should have went with the winter metal, good to -20 F before you feel any discomfort.

Your post on the Vatican should be eye opening. With all of the money the Vatican has, I'm sure the interior decorator has been given free reign.

That's funny with @puravidaville scolding you about taking the pictures of the people. It's just the opposite around here. When @farm-mom goes around taking pictures in a public place, especially of people, I get a little uneasy and ask her to chill.
After she is done getting her pics, and she loads them onto the computer, I'm glad she took the photos.

Talk about detailed responses, you're right there with those of us who really enjoy the engagement.

Whoops! I clicked on this one way too soon, Rob. My favorite kind of response right here, the type I save for last. I’ll be back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43