Street Art, People Photography, And A Floating Book Store in London 🇬🇧 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

in #outofthinair4 years ago (edited)

I’ve put together several of these articles from trains and buses but none from 30,000 feet in the air until now. The beautiful @puravidaville and I are currently over the North Sea en route to Thessaloniki, Greece—our next 30 day stay. She’s sleeping (in the window seat, by the way) and I’m #writing this article from the wedged, middle seat position, between her and a man the size of an offensive lineman.

The train ride from Liverpool to London is a little over three hours where she booked us another Air B&B to call home for two nights while awaiting our plane ride out of the UK. We gave ourselves two days in London to venture around, take in some sights, and capture as much of it as possible so I can put this together for you and have something to do while cramped in this middle seat.

A big shout-out to @livinguktaiwan and @lizanomadsoul for maintaining #steemitworldmap. Thank you! Welcome to London, England—this is what we saw.

iPhone 8+

5549C0E2-E68C-4B2C-9050-059856AF3DAF.jpeg

AD613C6B-891E-46B8-8B52-9076FF88C07E.jpeg

B9FAEF13-6597-42C9-99C7-FA509504B642.jpeg

52FD65CF-22ED-4511-8461-96200DE4DDF3.jpeg

55EC98EE-F107-4FED-98B4-8902809242EB.jpeg

61739AD7-F199-4BF7-ACB5-A9C312B14A59.jpeg

904696A4-312E-4B70-ADAD-4E603FF42240.jpeg

4A067335-9F3F-499F-95FE-13E63A5427A3.jpeg

CEC5FF97-C4D9-4DDC-909A-35D08B87AFDB.jpeg
@puravidaville hiding in it and @plantstoplanks written all over it.

9AB30724-0C10-4FED-A510-C3D5FE933544.jpeg

E6076839-51BD-41FF-B5F9-8E63A004EA80.jpeg

59C99FEA-502A-443A-B103-451B114EEE94.jpeg

3956459B-E133-4DA9-B348-701F74690683.jpeg

3D9F0DAF-A845-43C1-85D9-C14E51E30093.jpeg

F9269BE8-79CF-4BE1-9749-7E01AC92FD2A.jpeg

647B6D3A-99A6-4912-AEBB-9B6A98E30706.jpeg

8C1359FE-A969-46AA-B03B-3C2F7B8ECAA9.jpeg

1182E157-A322-4BB9-A2FB-1FF0F71BD959.jpeg

EB8E6A4C-42BF-485A-BBAB-F8B06E25CBE3.jpeg

B29D78AE-B72F-418A-9A39-C7D21B197F95.jpeg

405912BC-D948-43DC-A3CC-3F4F4E001FF0.jpeg

A7669EEE-2DB0-4F7A-A637-D3E5CFE5D868.jpeg

741F7266-A019-4A8E-9375-D396A712355E.jpeg

Monday
529CFE85-432A-4BCF-9B59-CF6276A9965A.jpeg

Sort:  

Hhhhmmm, maybe I can get @dksart to paint our house in a similar fruity motif. I'm sure the neighbors wouldn't mind at all....

Dandays to the rescue—paint their place first, they’ll be so pissed about it they won’t pay any attention to what he does to your own place. Plus ➕ it’ll be nice to get a little practice run in before he does your own. I know, I know, “genius.”

I value your defusing capabilities, @plantstoplanks, you’ve done such a good job calming me down on more than one occasion, it may be tough to tell behind these screens how much I appreciate it but I really do—thank you! Thanks for keeping an eye on me and always being nice, even when I’m being a little female doggish, I need all the help I can get.

Haha, why didn't I think of that? Brilliant!

I know you would (will?) return the favor if I needed it, so it's all good. I just baked some delicious oatmeal raisin cookies (with a sprinkling of chocolate chips), which means I'll have plenty of extra good vibes to give out for the few days they last. 😂

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dandays
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-art-people-photography-and-a-floating-book-store-in-london


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for having me @steemitworldmap.

!BEER
!giphy people




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

I'm laughing but I'm not sure if I should be disturbed.... 🤔

This art really brightens up some dull corners of London :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m glad you think so @vliet, I agree! Thanks for checking out this article and dropping me a line, I appreciate it, I’m glad you liked this one.

I’m sorry I didn’t notice the Resteem earlier @vliet. You’re very kind, thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks for keeping an eye on me @esteemapp.

Wow, there are some incredible drawings there. I was in London just once, for a couple of hours. I didn't get the opportunity to see Camden. It looks like a very vibrant and alternative zone! 😎

We really enjoyed ourselves there @trincowski. There was so much to do and that was our first time in Camden. We won’t be back in the U.K. until around February’ish, we’re going to try to give ourselves about a week there next time.

Thanks for checking this one out, I had a feeling you’d appreciate the street art. 👍🏿 I had a tough time choosing between the cover image I went with and the last street art photo I used of the giant metal bugs, those walls are about 25 feet tall. Really impressive art.

Amazing places for the street art, I love it, thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure @shimozurdo, I’m glad you liked it. I appreciate you dropping me a line. I’m a big fan of your articles too, sir! I’ll see you soon—have a great week.

Howdy sir dandays! That's the coolest book store I've ever seen. I love street art and graffiti, it always amazes me. Those works there, also incredible. Love the bright colors on most of them. My favorite is the lady with an eye patch and rose and the monkey.
This is a great post.

Well, hello @janton! How’s it going, sir? I have to start by saying I’m sorry for not visiting your page more often, I try to get by there at least once a week but I’ve been pleasantly surprised with attention around here recently that has been keeping me pretty busy. I actually saved all three of these responses from you for now so I can spend a little minute chatting.

I’m glad you liked this one, thank you for always being nice and continuing to appreciate what I’m trying to do. You’re a good dude, not enough of those around these days.

Wasn’t it just the coolest book store?! It was awesome! We left an outdoor craft type market and just went to venture around, Pura found a book with a ribbon wrapped around it sitting in the sidewalk. It had a note, I can’t remember what it said now, but something to the extent of “take it, read it, pass it on.” Not too far from that book was the floating book store. Man, I sure am glad we found it! And I’m glad I got to show it to you. I don’t think we would’ve found it had that book not stopped us in our tracks.

Isn’t the paint impressive? I’ll go with what you said, choosing a favorite is a challenge so I’ll just agree with your pick. Between me and you, I had a tough time choosing a cover image with the one I ended up going with verses all of those big, metal looking spiders.

See you in the next comment, Janton.

Howdy sir dandays! I love it when cities allow the artists to create this pieces on fences or old buildings because it adds so much culture and color! I think in Bangkok they don't allow it except in one section of the city so you can go and see all the amazing graffiti art and murals in one place. You guys are going to Thailand right?

Very interesting about the book on the sidewalk! Great idea.

Thailand is on our list, yes, I hope we get to spend time all through Southeast Asia into Cambodia and Malaysia. “Plan” is a funny wOrd, though, isn’t it? 3 months ago I never planned on being in Greece—look at us now. And I absolutely, 100%, didn’t know I would be in Israel in two weeks!! I’m so excited about that, I don’t know if I’ve ever been so excited about a destination.

I was nearly as excited when we landed here in Greece because I planned on us spending a few days on Patmos—I don’t have to explain Patmos to @janton.

Back to plan is a funny wOrd.. Well, I know why the Romans exiled John over there, sir, here we are at the end of 2019 and we still can’t get there.

Howdy tonight sir dandays! Do you totally wing it as far as knowing how long you will be at each destination? Is either of you keeping a log or a diary about these travels?

Good morning, @janton! It’s Wednesday, we get to volunteer our time at the refugee camp again tonight—I can’t wait! We got started last week, it was our first week, the highlight of our adventure so far, i can’t wait to get back over there.

I guess the only diary we’re writing is the one in our heads and should it ever go out, we’ll have what I’ve documented thus far on the blockchain, those are the only ones. Pura is planning to do something more along ‘diary’ with all of our travels once we settle down again. We reminisce often of “that one time” ...”or when such and such happened.” It’s almost difficult to believe the amount of stays we’ve had, they’re all documented in her air bnb app, she handles the booking, it’s quite fascinating. There’s gotta be near or just over 100.

Yes. We wing it. Since we left in January, this is the first time we booked ourselves out beyond 30 days and the only reason we did it this time was because we didn’t want to play with fire and continue with last minute accommodations with Christmas and New Years. So, when we booked Greece, we also booked Rome which is where we’ll be until the first week in January. But being this close to Israel, I had to go there also. It’s just one week, it’s going to be a great week! Then back to the 30 day thing.

Typically, we book ‘somewhere’ for 30 days. Within the first 2-3 days arriving, we will book our next 30 day stay, that’s it. Finding the destination is always exciting. We are literally looking at the map in our phone, for example, coffee in Morocco, ever had Moroccan coffee? Delicious! So, one of these days before we live Europe, we ‘might’ end up over there for 30 days. Pura’s favorite desserts, as long as I’ve known her, are melomakarona and kourabiedes, both Greek desserts, that’s why we came to Greece for 30 days.

I “plan” on (there’s that funny wOrd again) being back in the states at the early part of 2021 but we won’t know for sure until we get there. In the meantime, there’s a big map on our phones we’re slowly but surely making smaller.

God is the coolest dude in this conversation, Janton. Throw the ball once for Jack for me. Which reminds me, our final stop.... whenever that may be, prior to flying back to the states, is Germany. I haven’t had. German since 2013. Yup, my next adventure is my own breed, something I have been going to do for 20 years and my first one, the male, will be a black and tan from Germany. His name is Knight. The first female will be a Sable from a breeder in Chattanooga, Tennessee, her name is Moriah, as in, Mt. Moriah (don’t have to explain one to Janton). But this all goes back to that plan wOrd again and I don’t want to get too carried away.

Dang, this is a long response!

Howdy sir dandays! You are going to Greece because of desserts? Can't she make them? I hit those links, they look really good.

You're coming back to the states to see family and friends?
You'll have to be in your permanent place to start breeding dogs though.

We are in Greece now, been here three weeks—it’s a great place! Of course she can make them, most anyone I can I’m sure. Most anyone can probably make pizza, too, but until you’ve had pizza in Italy.. who really knows?

I don’t have any family, I‘ve explained that, you’re probably as wrapped up as I am with people around here and forget who’s who sometimes. Nope, the only child, a bastard, buried my mother at age 37, I had grandparents once but they’ve been gone a long time. Mom was all I had (in the flesh).

Yes, permanent place, of course. I find myself looking at Tennessee regularly and an occasional peak at Florida. Both have convenient things like no state tax and two of the 5 lowest property taxes in the country.



Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99