OKAY - THAT WAS NOT A GOOD IDEA!

in #ouch6 years ago

Normally, I try not to bleed from the face.


So, there I was, heading down on the land to check on the sheep. It was dark, and it was raining. Suddenly, I saw an Opossum near the garden site and was overcome with a desire to get him away from the area...

YEAH, DUMB IDEA

Running through the woods with low visibility is not a good idea. Especially in areas where there is a lot of green briers. Soon, my poor face was pulled across a green brier vine.

This stuff is basically the barbed wire of the woods. It'll grab hold of you and tear your flesh open if you run into it. We hope to eventually phase it out and remove it from the homestead, but so far it is still growing all over the place. On the bright side, I did get rid of that Opossum, but lost more blood than I would have preferred to in the process.

@Bluerthangreen and I had just been talking about all the movies where they show people running through the woods. He mentioned that they must be somewhere further north, because you wouldn't be able to make it through our woods! Indeed my friend, indeed!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-bad-stuff-to-run-your-face-into

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Sorry buddy, you gonna be healed soon. Just take care of the wound.

This is such a great post. I'm sure that almost everybody reading it had a flashback to some point where they encountered one of natures nasty defenses. I know I did! Sorry about your misfortune but this post made me smile. I'm sharing one back with you! Complete with a papa-pepper 'selfie smile' and a thorny reminder of your night!

Thanks for firing up the nostalgia projector!

Nice! Thanks for the smile!

I once ran through the woods in the dark to rescue my sister who got her foot caught between two logs while we were hiking. I tripped over a branch and fell to my knees. It was a swampy area so when my left knee got very wet immediately, I didn't think anything of it. It hurt a little but I thought I must have hit another log or something. I quickly found my sister, got her foot free and help her back to the house. As we got into the lighted area I noticed that the wet spot was very dark. When we got to the house I discovered the wet spot was a 5" section of blood. There was a tear in my jeans and underneath was 2" very deep gash in my knee. It was bleeding profusely and pressure wasn't stopping it. My other sister called my parents who were visiting neighbors. They took me to the emergency room where I got ten stitches. There were a lot of discarded bottles in the woods from occupants of an old house that had burned down years before we moved into ours. So I must have fallen onto some broken glass. So, no it is not a good idea to run through the woods with low visibility. :-D Ps.that was in upstate NY.

Thank goodness @roswellrockman your love for your sister must have numbed every pain and perhaps all the adrenaline. You must be your sisters hero

Point taken! You should have told me first and I could have avoided my mishap!

Be Safe!...:)...

Damn! That must hurt

Dude that is a rough happening from just trying to get work done. Glad you have a good attitude (best you can) about it.

Looks like wild blackberry, loves the taste of blood, and tries to slow you down so it can have some more.
We have a similar NZ native, usually called "Bush Lawyer". the "Wait A Moment Vine" if you stop and go out slowly, backwards it doesn't rip too much, try and muscle through it and it tears clothes, skin, meat, and if it has a chance, bones from you.
It also works in daylight so you have to be careful all the time.

Lol...the "Wait a Moment Vine". Great description! I'm going to remember that name while dealing with roses and raspberries, which definitely make you take your time if you don't want to be skewered.

Called the " bush lawyer" because the start of their argument is * Wait a moment, the law says .....

Ouch! get well soon, @papa-pepper! we also have plants with spikes, for example wild rose or mulberry. And, of course, nettles, with suddenly and very painful effect!

I love nettles! My favorite plants!

Sorry about the tear @papa-pepper, get better soon.

Bad luck! I got my leg nailed by this the other day. I decided to do a bare foot walk not a great idea either. Horrible stuff 💯🐒

Yeah, it's a beast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53