[#originalmusic] Opening with saxophonist Ryan Dunn for Opal Agafia & The Sweet Nothings and Drifter's Mile at The Outland Ballroom (includes music, video, photos, and reflections)

This weekend was nothing short of nourishing to my soul. I'm going to break this weekend into two posts, as half of it was spent playing live music and pouring my bleeding heart on the stage, and the latter half was spent working on new things in the studio. I'll post about being in the studio later on.

On Saturday night, Ryan Dunn joined me on stage for a set of my originals to open for Opal Agafia & The Sweet Nothings, self described as "Ozark Mountain Soul," and what I would consider to be the fun side of this emerging genre of "New-grass" or "Alternative Bluegrass," and a show for which I was very excited to have the chance to open. I'm going to go into Opal and her band in a little bit, but I have to wax on some of this creative vibrance flowing through my world lately. Even as I type this, I am having ideas all over the place for what I'm going to do after I post.


IMG_0225.PNG


Meeting someone with whom I feel I musically mesh with on almost a spiritual level doesn't happen often. In fact, prior to making music with Ryan Dunn, had happened literally only two times in my life. However, even though our musical relationship is still new, I see such cool potential for the vibe his tenor saxophone brings to the acoustic pieces I compose, and his sensibilities are always completely what I'm looking for in a song...even before I have realized that was what I was looking for...such a rare thing, and I'm so grateful.

IMG_0226.PNG


Here is a full-length performance of my original tune, "Hoxie," as you've never heard it before, featuring the vibrationally brilliant and intuitive saxophonic troubadour who is Ryan Dunn. Enjoy.





Opal Agafia & The Sweet Nothings
from Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Here is a clip I took of one of their songs at the show on Saturday...I really enjoyed not only the energy of their set, and upon also hanging out with them in the green room, I realized what genuinely cool people these people are.

They're all completely outstandingly talented musicians, and their fiddle player is especially impressive...albeit this entire band brings the fire for their entire set, as is evident in this clip:



Here's a photo of Opal and me after the show. I'm cheesing hard, because I was really excited from the entire night, from their set, and from the general vibe gratitude of the entire night, and I'm looking forward to splitting some bills with them again.


IMG_0215.PNG


Thanks so much for checking this out! If you dig it, please Follow, Upvote, and Resteem to your communities!




Follow me @jessamynorchard for more assorted randomness!

Support Steemian-Original Music by tagging YOUR tunes with # originalmusic
I even blogged about it.

Click here to read my Steemit intro to learn more about what I'm all about.

Love what you hear? Consider becoming a monthly Patron at:

http://www.patreon.com/jessamynorchardmusic

Sort:  

You two are amazing together!!!!!

Yes... I agree about that ! :)

Thank you so much! This is only the third time Ryan and I have collaborated, but it feels very natural to play music with him.

Thank you!! I feel so honored and privileged to have the opportunities to play music with Ryan. It's such a vibe party, and makes my heart so happy.

You're wonderful and very talented. You're passion for what you do shows and shines. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you so very much. Sincerely. I always hope to share that passion for the art and my heart always and in all ways. Thank you again for checking it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81