You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ORIGINAL MUSIC + VIDEO / SLOW MURDER / DARK AMBIENT JAZZ

in #originalmusic7 years ago

Damn, this really captured my attention, and I have ADHD so that's saying something! The vibe is so grim and thick, this would be great in a haunted house or at a halloween party; there's a lot of power of suggestion here. I'm really curious about your process making this video and how much of the footage is original vs found, could you tell me about that stuff?

@vachemorte, this is really cool music. I don't know if you know the band Tera Melos, but their guitarist Nick Reinhart has some solo Halloween sounds albums that I think you'd enjoy and maybe even get inspiration from.

You guys should definitely collaborate more, I really liked this.

Sort:  

Yo fungusmonk. Glad you like my music also so now it's mutual (I was really impressed with that track of yours yesterday). I am listening to Tera Melos right now I didn't know this band, you are right the track frozen zoo totally works for me.

You should check this out, it's very similar vibes to your track: https://nickreinhart.bandcamp.com/album/scary-sounds

For this video I actually used all creative Commons footage, I transform and layer and color and morph it a lot though, most of the shots you see are multiple layers of opacity, I also use some png overlay (?) effects like smoke and sparks etc. Everything is edited in Adobe premiere but I'm slowly learning after effects for animation! For the actual creative process I go in with a vibe/idea I want to convey and just play with the footage until it feels right. I use the music as a guide :)

Awesome, found footage is a cool medium and liked all your choices a lot. I'd love to collaborate with you as well if you'd be interested; the pace of my music tends to be a lot faster than this though, so it might be a very different challenge!

That would be awesome! I would love vocals on my tracks but I hate singing I choke in front of a mic, lol. I started a track for a cover contest on here, not sure if I'm going to post it. Might have to modulate my voice beyond recognition before I like it (^o^)

Yeah singing on recordings is hard. I'm usually pretty unhappy with my voice so I scrap a lot of takes. That's why the album I just put out is all instrumental~

Do you do any vocal exercises? I started doing some a while back and after a week or two I noticed it felt easier to sing, I didn't keep up with it though and now it's been ages, I should do that again

I don't and I probably should! But I tend to just not like my voice very much. I haven't sung much in a while because all my musical efforts have been focused on recording and mixing for a few months.

Well your last post was great! The vocal exercises might give you more confidence about it (I should take my own advice) As long as your making music it's good either way though, I think it's probably a good idea to keep creating so you don't get rusty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60