Original Tetractys Poem by enternamehere

My Original Tetractys Poem, "Heatwave"


tetractys-img-free-use.png

The following poem, entitled "Heatwave", is an example of a double tetratctys poem. The tetractys is a form of poetry consisting of twenty syllables across five lines. It is arranged in such a way that it resembles a triangular geometric figure.

"Euclid, the mathematician of classical times, considered the number series 1, 2, 3, 4 to have mystical significance because its sum is 10, so he dignified it with a name of its own - Tetractys. The tetractys could be Britain's answer to the haiku. Its challenge is to express a complete thought, profound or comic, witty or wise, within the narrow compass of twenty syllables." - Ray Stebbing (source)


Heatwave
SCB 29May2018 Denton, TX

Hot
Summer
Long dog days
No rain in sight
Native arid land, the place I call home.
"Pardon our noise, it's the sound of freedom"
Whiff of sea breeze
Nearly swamp
Stifling
Hot


Background Info for This Poem

After writing my series of free verse poems this month, some order is now in order. Stebbing's tetractys has a structure I just couldn't ignore. Soon after I discovered this poetry form, “Heatwave” was complete.

"Heatwave" compares two kinds of summer feelings. The first set of summer feelings is about Texas, where I am from originally, and where I live now. The second set looks at summer on the North Carolina coast, where I lived for half of my twenties.

The 29th of May, 2018 was so warm it felt like summer came early. The heat outdoors was nearly impossible to ignore, so it became my subject. Once I got to the end of the first part of this double tetractys (Native arid land), I realized the poem needed symmetry, so the next verse came pouring out to complete the triangle.

NOTE: A double tetractys has two verses. The second verse is a mirror reflection of the first, in regards to format.


Proof of original tetractys poetry
steemit-enternamehere-original-tetractys-poem-heatwave-proof.jpg


Let's talk hot:

What is summertime like where you live?

What symbolizes summer in your mind?



Click Below for the Most Recent ENH Content:
Sunrise Surprise: Breakfast My Waysteemit-enternamehere-sunrise-surprise-26may2018-sweet-nutty-rice-carrot-sweet-potato-622.jpg

Happy-Sad Dog Tessellation
steemit-enternamehere-tessellation-dog-orange-blue-crayon-561.jpg


Who is enternamehere?
ENH is a steemian exploring life one day at a time through visual art, poetry and other fun activities. Also known as Seana. Here I am.

steemit-enternamehere-footer-bnw-hat-selfie.jpg

Thank You




Sort:  
  1. That is a very cool poetry format, and I'm actually intrigued to give it a shot myself...Thanks for helping me learn something new!

  2. I think I want to give a "steemstarter" a shot this month. Could you give me your thoughts on what I outlined here?
    https://steemit.com/art/@drwatson/ithaqa-steemstarter-update

Done ☺

Gosh, I love the idea of tetractys. Don't you love it when math and art come together? Especially when there's triangles involved. I think there's something harmonious about the composition when math plays a role in the structure.

It's a great read. It's amazing how much is conveyed through one long sentence and the others build up and break down from it.

The dog tessellation is perfect!!!! That dog is me through the course of a day - happy-sad-happy-sad-happy-sad. Did you use a stencil again?

Hm, I've been complaining about the summer endlessly for the past week. Summer in Chennai is HOT. The temperature peaked to 41 degrees yesterday and I fell sick with a throat pain and cold from it. I try to stay in til about 5pm after which there is the nicest summer breeze so it's quite nice to get off my ass and go play some badminton/ swimming.

If Chennai summers were to have a mascot, it would be the mango. We LOVE our summers simply because it's mango season. Find me an Indian who doesn't like mangoes and I'll...tell you they're out of their minds.

That's right, art is math manifested. Maybe that's why both art and math can be considered universal languages. If that's the case, art, math & love are the trifecta.

You like the Happy-Sad Dog! Yes, I used a stencil for this one as well. In fact, I put a picture of the stencil in the post about H-S Dog if you'd like a look. We're all just happy-sad dogs on the inside, right? (That sounds so odd) :D

Whhhew, I thought summers here in TX were hot! It's only 38° here this week, not so bad except for the peak hours between 2 pm - 6 pm. Take it easy in that heat, madam, that stuff will get you. Are you feeling back to normal now?

Mangoes are indeed delicious, although I doubt I've ever had one as fresh as the ones you can access. I bet they make a refreshing smoothie!

OH, just the imagery that art, math and love as trifecta conjures is so satisfying! I can't believe I missed the H-SDog post! Haha, we ARE all just happy-sad dogs at the end of the day.

Well, the summer is right now killing me because I've just been indoors for about a week with this cold. I should be back up on my feet soon! Weather wise, it's hot but also super breezy because of the sea closeby. So I enjoy a good breeze throughout the day.

When the breeze gets together with shade, summer is totally enjoyable. That still direct sunlight stuff is the real kicker. Good to hear you're recuperating, take care!

Never heard of that format, yay I learned a new thing! And it sounds almost as challenging as trying to make my phone keyboard spit out the words I want XD brought up some nice imagery :)

goatsig

This format is fun and challenging to work with. Is there a goat poetry series in your future?! :)

Nope, I haven't done poetry since I was a teenager XD

goatsig

Maybe there's a Ryivhnn poetry flashback post in there somewhere? Was your life influenced by goats when you were a teenager? Or did they come in to the picture later? ☺

My English Lit teacher stole my poetry book back when I was in high school so there will be no flashbacks of anything (I'm not sure I would share them anyway they were probably mostly awful XD). I may have another one either here somewhere or at my parents house but that's a big book full of all early crappy stuff, the A5 size book that was stolen had some okay stuff in it.

The goats came last year due to an amusin conversation in the TA chanel where two of the then-regulars were discussing how many upgoats would be worth an upboat, so I drew them an upgoat in an upboat:

and then the upgoat footers developed from there. And after I'd had the post footers for a while I decided that I should have a matching comment footer and it seems to amuse people XD

goatsig

Ahh, I feel like I've had a history lesson in Ryivhnn on Steemit. I'm up to speed now.

Your footers are unmistakable! Definitely amusing ☺

Goodness me, that is clever. I had never heard of the dashed thing before :O)

Me neither! Learning is my drug of choice. I can never seem to get enough and the more I get the more I want. Thank you kindly for stopping by.

You are most welcome. I like a bit of learny myself!

👍👍👍👍👍💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59051.02
ETH 2508.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44