Origami Contest, hosted by @gmatthe2 :: The Origami Whales Project

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

For the last couple of days, I have been thinking, what should I present as my origami piece for @gmatthe2's Origami Contest. Then one day, while 'flipping' videos on Youtube, it recommended a Tedx Talk: Allow things to unfold and you will find your Purpose in Life. | Peggy Oki | TEDxQueenstown.

In the video, surfer, skateboarder, artist and activist, Peggy Oki spoke about her passion for whales and dolphins, and how she started a project called the Origami Whale Project to create awareness about commercial whaling. She created the idea of sewing a curtain of origami whales (like the one that @ivan-g did with 2,000 cranes 😊) together with her friends, to be presented in a "Whale Day" exhibition. Each origami whale represents each whale that has been killed when they should have been protected. It was such an empowering art project. Do watch the 16:34mins video on Peggy's journey and visit her website to learn more about this project. In the video also, she spoke about how later, the project was extended to origami dolphins.

Coincidentally, just last week, I watched a rerun of a heartwarming film about a friendship between a boy and an orca whale called Free Willy on television.

So here I am, I folded an origami whale in support of Peggy Oki's Origami Whale Project. I followed Jo Nakashima's Origami Whale.

InkedIMG_3435_LI.jpg

This was my first time folding this origami and it took some number of tries for some parts of the whale. This origami works much better with plain paper with one colored side but I couldn't find mine 🤦‍♀️. But I found out later that there is a simpler origami whale which I will try later 😅.

tqfordroppingby-smaller.jpg

Sort:  

This is wonderful @marblely I am a donator to Gowing Whale Trust an Australian charity to help whales. They are a species we need to protect.

Ooo that is cool. I will check it out. Maybe they can accept donations from overseas too. 🐳

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great job with the whale :D
Looks really cool

Thank you @ivan-g. I almost destroyed the tail 😂 got confused a bit to the folds. Poor whale 🐳

Posted using Partiko iOS

Buen trabajo ;) también soy artista del papel

Mucho gracias. Very nice to ‘meet’ you :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like the paper you used @marblely. It very colorful

Thank you @oliviackl :) From Daiso :D

Congratulations @marblely! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59