2000 Paper Cranes Final

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

They're finally done, this took way longer than I expected, the first 1000 went swimmingly in only a week but the next 1000 took more than 3 weeks. I won't be making another 1000, wouldn't even have anywhere to put them. Without further adu, here are the pictures of the birds on my room door. They almost completely cover it. Filled in some spaces with kawasaki roses.

Hard to get a detailed photo of the whole shot with my phone.
2.jpg

I tried shooting top and bottom parts separately
3.jpg

4.jpg

I calculated approximately how much paper I spent on this project, around 100 A4 sheets. That's around 500g or 1 pound. Total money spent should be around 5 usd. Time spent around 50 hours, probably more, during streaming I realized how often I zone out and just stop folding.

Thank you to everyone who followed me on this journey and hope you're excited for some new interesting projects :)

Thumbnail

My live stream is at DLive

Sort:  

You never cease to amaze me. LOL!!! Talk about a sharp mind! Did you paint the murals on the walls behind you? They are beautiful.

Thank you, the murals are actually by my sister @kristyglas :D

Awesome @ivan-g and those roses in the background are my next goal 😁

Thank you, good luck on the rose :D

They make a pretty great door decoration. If you ever feel up to making more you could make one of those bead curtain thingies that seemed really popular to hang on doors in the 80s and possibly 70s XD Well done on getting so many folded :O

I think I've had enough for a year or so, I think I know what you mean by bead door thing, getting these tangled would be a total mess, and trust me they tangle :s not even sure if I'll keep them on the door, considering using them in a different way.

LoL yes, yes it would, guess it would only work if you don't have too much wind or too many people blowing through XD

Sadako Sasaki
Sadako Sasaki (佐々木 禎子, Sasaki Sadako, January 7, 1943 – October 25, 1955) was a Japanese girl who was 12 years old when an American atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima on August 6, 1945, near her home next to the Misasa Bridge. Sasaki became one of the most widely known hibakusha – a Japanese term meaning "bomb-affected person". She is remembered through the story of the one thousand origami cranes she folded before her death, and is to this day a symbol of the innocent victims of nuclear warfare.

made 2000 not 200 (made 200 yesterday and today) xD and thanks I know the story

This is really amazing! I applaud you for sticking to the project and folding so many cranes! The way you display them is wonderful! 😊

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you ^^ had a lot of pauses on the second 1000, coming back to it every once in a while but I'm glad I finished it.

That means you can make two wishes :D This is a very significant achievement so I hope you will be celebrating in some way! The Kawasaki roses add a nice touch to it as well :)

made the second wish, still waiting on that first one >:[ celebration was not having to worry about an unfinished project xD

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47