Opiods

in #opiods7 years ago

You know I'm not very good at this but thought I would try. The opioids addiction it is a crisis in one of two ways.
1 Opioids are a dangerous pain medicine and should be treated as you would a loaded gun. Which I do since I do take them responsibly. My wife is a nurse so I never touch the bottle they are in she sets my meds up a week at a time. They keep passing laws to make them harder for people to get. I now instead of driving 8 miles to get my meds prescription from my family dr who has taken care of them for yrs. I have to drive over 70 miles to go to a pain clinic. So what will I do when I don't have access. The reason I have to take them is I have had 8 back surgeries for spinal fusion , a pouch forming on my spine and then after a accident on the job to place rods in screws in my back. Which caused me to have to give my career of 23 yrs one I truly enjoyed. I have tried shots , physical therapy and also other meds and they are the only ones that help.

  1. These laws can help keep them out of the hands of abusers. However no law is going to stop someone who is addicted from getting them. In their condition they will steal them.

These laws only hurt those who need them. People who are like me. I can't legally drive to get them but now I have to miss doses to go out to another town where the pain clinic is at. I do feel for the families of people who abuse them. You see if I can't control my pain I can't get out of bed. I know others that are the same way. I would really give my right leg up to not have to take them.

Sort:  

Congratulations @togle! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @togle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73