OpHumanAngels: Flower Power Edition

in #ophumanangels6 years ago

IMG_20180201_163622.jpg
Make life beautiful 💚

So I was feeling really down today. I didn't want to go anywhere, I didn't want to do anything. I felt really alone, and if I'm perfectly honest, unloved and unneeded. It was cold and gray and my mood matched.

Then I was OpHumanAngel'ed. Twice.

I posted about it here: https://steemit.com/thankyou/@phoenixwren/i-ve-just-been-ophumanangel-ed ...that @lyndsaybowes delegated 250 SP to me, doubling my Steem Power. And then in the comments of that post, @taskmaster4450 delegated me the same amount! Now my SP has tripled!

I felt like the Universe hugged me and said, "See?"

So what do you do when you're overcome with gratitude?

IMG_20180201_165057.jpg
IMG_20180201_165108.jpg
IMG_20180201_165115.jpg

You give flowers to strangers, of course.

This is the ballsiest #ophumanangels I've ever done. It's one thing to ignore traffic whilst chalking on the sidewalk, it's another to walk up to a stranger and say, "Would you like a flower?"

Don't believe me?
IMG_20180201_165204.jpg

I totally chickened out in the 7-11. It was so crowded. LOL

Try again!
IMG_20180201_165757.jpg

Success! I gave a flower to the cashier at Anthony's Pizza! (I did not take photos of recipients, I didn't want to be THAT weird, lol)

Next up, my favorite flower presentation of the day:
FB_IMG_1517534087128.jpg

The bus was pulling up as I was feet from the bus stop (it was stopping, two people were getting on). I ran on, gave the driver a flower, and hopped off.

The best part? SHE WAS IN TRAINING. She had a teacher driver with her. I hope it helped put a good start to her new job!

Flower number three:

IMG_20180201_170725.jpg

It was a male barista, and he looked like he thought I was insane, but he took the flower! I am insane, so it's all good. 😁

Flowers four and five:

IMG_20180201_170857.jpg

One to each of the ladies behind the counter at Falafel King.

IMG_20180201_171619.jpg

Heading back home...

IMG_20180201_171809.jpg

One more to a lady walking her dog right outside my building!

IMG_20180201_173536.jpg
The last three came home to my altar for Morrigan and Brighid (happy Imbolc!).

Many thanks again to Lyndsay and TaskMaster for the delegations ...and for turning my day around. 💚

Sort:  

That is courageous. Frankly I'm not sure I'd have the balls to do it.

In The Four Hour Work-Week Tim Ferriss writes about overcoming discomfort and fear of embarrassment. He'd do an experiment where he'd just lie down in the middle of the floor of a busy plaza. Because it seems like such an odd thing to do, most people are terrified to try it. Once you realize that nobody really cares if you're a bit weird, you feel liberated to do what you need to pursue a crazy business idea.

I like your approach better, though. If you're going to do something weird and uncomfortable, why not make it something kind, something that'll actually improve someone's day.

Thank you! I don't remember that being in T4HWW, which I listened to on audiobook several years ago. That's probably where it came from, because it's a Sneaky Card mission (you're supposed to do it until someone asks if you're ok and then give them the card). But I saw that and thought, no, because people might think something is wrong, and that's not nice. It's one of the few Sneaky Cards I ruled out, lol. I mean, one time I saw a homeless guy just lying down on the sidewalk - not under a tree or on a bench or something, just right there in the middle of the sidewalk. I thought he had passed out. I woke him up checking on him. I'm not gonna do that to someone as a "challenge"!

Sometimes we get wrapped up in all the things we have to do and all the people that need us for this and for that. Sometimes I feel I am torn and pulled into 15 different directions. When that happens I sometimes do not see things that are right in front of me. I did not see this post 6 days ago. However it is never to late to say hello to a cyber friend and to offer you a cup of tea

)

and a hug


Aw, thanks. :)

Awesome idea, flowers. Really nice that you managed to catch the trainee bus driver! You probably made her day!

I hope so! 😊

Well, to break the ice you have to do something different, something that comes from the heart, although it would be strange to see someone approach me and give me a flower without knowing it. ha ha

This was definitely different for me! LOL

Very moving!!! My upvote is worth almost nothing but I’m going to send you some minnowbooster love!!!

Aw, thank you!

It ain’t much I’m running low on steem dollars but 3 cents is Better then my 0 cents lol. Just wanted to show you some love.

I totally appreciate it!! 😊

Firstly a very happy Imbolc to you too!
Secondly love this idea cracking! Bet you brighten so many peoples day through this top marks! Would try it but might be a bit odd for a bloke to do it? Maybe maybe not haha maybe I could send some :) That would cost a fortune flowers are so expensive here! 💯🐒

<- bloke. But to be fair, I don't pass, so they probably thought I was a lady.

Haha You know I've never really looked at the photo too small. I only saw the cat really (now you tell me its a budgie haha) Just assumed without connecting to the photo that bad on my part to assume some stereotype to work on for me there! No excuse for me then other than the cost. This month is tight as just been to the big smog (London) for my mum 70th and spend a small fortune wow. :) 💯🐒

LOL, no worries. "The big smog," I just watched a video recently about how the London smog literally killed a bunch of people one time. And not like "they got cancer after years of exposure," but like "it didn't lift for days and people asphyxiated and they passed new environmental laws because of it."
Of course, in the States, one of our blood sucking creatures (politician), recently said that our air was "too clean for optimum health."
Yeah.
That guy should suck on a tailpipe and see how he feels...

Ahh its horrible! Living in the country i'm used to fresh air! But I got a headache the moment I stepped off the tube and felt dirty. The pollution is something else yuck. Hate the place! Still picking black shit out of my nose

Ugh, that's awful!

That's amazing! I'm so glad the Universe hugged you like that, and handing out flowers is an incredible deed. Definitely not an easy task, by any means.

You, @lyndsaybowes, and the whole #ophumanangels network gives me so much hope.

<3

Thank you! 😊

what a beautiful thing to do - it's almost like we were there with you! <3 <3 <3

💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗
I'm so freaking happy for you!!! 😁

Thank you! 😃

Omg how the (^^((^&OY&(&((()*( did I miss this???!!!!!! AHHHHH!!!!!!! This is the friggin BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am just pure smiles and happy dances over here, this is the bravest, awesomest thing ever Phe!!!!!!!!!! Krikee!!!!!!! Resteeming!!!!!

Aw, shucks. Thank you! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68846.60
ETH 3872.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66