OpHumanAngels: A Mission For All You Angels!

in #ophumanangels7 years ago

For those not in the Facebook group, #ophope, you might not have seen this lovely video that was shared:

https://m.facebook.com/groups/842747989215302/permalink/928200294003404/

The story:
Kaitlin is an awesome teenage girl who happens to have a condition that means she has special needs. Because of this, she stays in school until she's 21. Kaitlin is 17 now. The issue is, she just watched her one-year-older sister go through all the typical high school graduation traditions: graduation ceremony, parties, applying to colleges, prom, etc., and thought, next year is my turn.

When her mom explained to her that she wouldn't be graduating this year, she said:
It's because I don't have friends, isn't it?

(Passes you a tissue) I know, right? I feel that.

So, her mom got permission for her to go to prom, but beyond that, she still won't be graduating or applying to college and all that, so her mom wanted to make her 18th birthday extra special.

Here's where we come in.

Her mom is asking for people to send birthday cards (they are not requesting presents) from all around the world, in between now and Kaitlin's birthday, which is this summer. So that way, as other kids her age are getting graduation presents and stuff, she is getting all these surprise cards in the mail! She even got a map of the world so they can color in countries they get cards from.

The address to send cards is:
Kaitlin Coghlin
267 Brantwood Park Road
Brantford, Ontario
Canada
N3P 1P2

I don't have a picture of my card yet because I ordered a special one from CafePress with a beautiful Bollywood actress on it, because Kaitlin loves Bollywood musicals. If you watch the video, her mom "interviews" her about things she likes, so you can make or choose a special card if you want (but don't have to).


This is the one I got, so we can all send her different ones, maybe

So that's it, angels! If you want to join the FB group, Kindness For Kaitlin, they will post videos of her getting cards. Now go out there and make her birthday awesome! 😄

Sort:  

THIS IS WONDERFUL!!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing @phoenixwren i would upvote but am waiting till my votes power up again. LOL --- oh the struggle ❤❤❤❤s and virtual hugs instead?!

LOL! I understand. I've just gotten back into around 80% VP after being in the 60s or 70s for several days. Oops. 😂
So many good posts, so little VP...

No kidding ❤❤❤🎶❤❤❤ 😁

I just saw that in #opHope!!! You are amazing Phoenix!!!! Your heart is so huge, thanks for posting this here, hopefully the blockchain can send a tonne of good vibes, and loving cards to dear Kaitlin!! xoxooxxo Keep us updated!! Beautiful card idea you have, so special!!

I didn't see the person who posted in OH in the Steemit group, so I figured I should share it here. 😃 I also tweeted Ariana Grande, even though I have zero idea if she reads her tweets. Sometimes celebrities do though, so I thought it was worth a shot. 😁

I need a tissue. I wish her the best

Oh, sweet thing. That is heartbreaking. Gonna have to ponder what card to send her.

FYI to everyone: I asked, and the actor she said she liked in the video is Abhishek Bachchan.

What a wonderful idea! I love sending cards! I'm in. 😊

This is a great idea to help a very special girl! Kudos.

Agreed, this will be in the spotlight!!
The #gratefulvibes family will love this!!

You know I'm in..

Yay!

Awesome idea about the cards. It will surely lift up her spirits :)
Just have to say, that single line is heart breaking in so many levels :'(

I know, to me, too. As a depressive person, it's like my dark depression thoughts said out loud. :(

So grateful to have found you and your kind heart to help others. It's indeed a pleasure to connect with you @phoenixwren. We can never have too much love! I'm also playing this game with you.. I hope you'll enjoy this post. Upvoting and following you.

https://steemit.com/randomactsofkindness/@everlove/games-that-keep-on-giving-random-acts-of-kindness-and-thank-you-for-being

Followed you as well! I'm so excited to learn more about your eco village!

We have shared so much on the internet about our eco-village. It really is a whole new paradigm of living--fundamentally profound on every level. I hope you are following the @gardenofeden, @quinneaker, @saramiller, @qiqi-power, @noki-power, @truelovelives and @kimberleighfl. You'll get a taste from many perspectives. Grateful to connect with you @phoenixwren. Love your screen name btw!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12