OpHumanAngels: Cascade Mall

in #ophumanangels7 years ago

Today the kids wanted to go play at the Children's Museum which is inside our local mall.


This mall was the location of a mass shooting inside the Macy's store a few years ago.



"On September 23, 2016, five people were killed in a mass shooting at the Cascade Mall in Burlington, Washington, U.S. The gunman was identified as Arcan Cetin, a 20-year-old who emigrated from Turkey as a child with his family.[4] He was arrested the following day in Oak Harbor, Washington, his hometown.[5][6] On September 26, he confessed to committing the shooting.[7] On April 16, 2017, Cetin committed suicide by hanging himself in his jail cell.[8][9]"
Source:wikipedia

This event was something that rocked our sleepy little farming community. People who had previously held the belief that "nothing like that could ever happen here", had to abandon that peaceful dream. There were candlelight vigils and mountains of flowers and cards and candles outside the mall for months. We held each other up and supported those who had been affected by the tragedy. There were children left behind without mothers. The community pitched in and opened them a bank account that anyone in town could contribute money to. It was wonderful to see our community be there for each other. I wanted to spread some love and kindness there today. It needs it.


For my mission today I wrote out 8 cards I think. But only had the opportunity to place 6 of them. Here they were:

20180126_092628_1516987789365.png

The first one says #BurlingtonStrong. It was our community's facebook tag we used for all posts related to that day. That one went in front of Macy's.

20180126_122205.jpg

Eventually...first the kids wanted to play!



2018012613021555975.png

So much fun! Then they conned me into Chuck E Cheese for lunch. (They really freaking love that place and I just don't get it. But oh well.)


While they played, I snuck cards wherever I could. Here we go..

2018012613051930513_1517000839726.png

#1 said "Don't forget to be awesome!". It went in the window behind the couch in the Children's Museum, facing out so everyone passing by can read it.

#2 said "Be Excellent to Each Other", in honor of @phoenixwren. ;) Children's Museum

#3 said "You are Loved" and went in the reading nook at the Museum

#4 said "Today is your day. You can do it!" It was tucked in a cubby of an old 18 wheeler cab they have inside the museum.

#5 said "Do What You Love. Love What You Do." That was on a table at Chuck E Cheese. Sorry, the pic sucks. haha.

#6 was #BurlingtonStrong in front of Macy's on the stand alone sign.


A huge thank you to @steveconnor again for sending us the cards with the steemit logo on the backs of them! All of these cards today were made from them! Thank you again!


The kiddos went right down for a nap when we got home and I'm hoping I still have time to do the dishes before they wake up. Thanks for reading about our ophumanangels mission! Join in the fun by performing any random act of kindness and posting about it in the ophumanangels tag! Spread the love in your community! Love and light to all!



kgif.gif


banner.jpg


IMG_20180124_142440.png

Sort:  

I love #1 and #3. It's always nice to know you're loved. This warms my heart everytime. I've been meaning to ask, can I do a text message version of this. I mean instead of cards, I send text messages to my coworkers from a new SIM card I got. They haven't gotten their salaries in a while; my mom's being owed 9 months worth of salary. I think they would appreciate some encouraging words.

Everyone needs to hear these things. A small gesture can truly make a difference to someone! I say your text idea is wonderful. If your friends need encouragement, provide it however you feel moved to do so. I know i would love to read about it. 😊💗

I love this project, maybe i try it and i steal a smile from a stranger

btw your children are beautiful :)

Aww, Thank you. 😁

Good job Kelli.. glad to see you using those cards too

Aww, bless you Angels!! You always bring such a smile to my face, thanks for keeping the Op going strong!! xoxoxoxo

💗💗
Thank you for putting the idea of it out in the universe! I'm not sure I would have been brave enough to try it if the idea had been my own. That's why I keep it going. Maybe someone else out there feels the same way and are scared to step out of their comfort zone. The more you see good being done, the more you want to try it for yourself. 😁

How cool is all this venture @khackett, never give up, you cant demand the love of anybody but when it comes so unexpected as a card, you get a smile, I assure you that you already have some in your pocket. Thank for sharing all the travel with us.

It is a shocking history about that happen, I wished things like that never happened in the world but that can only be achieved after we change the world as whole.

Amazing cards @khackett : D they would a put a smile in the faces of any person that find them haha, i think i liked the #5 the most of all. Cheers!

PD: Those are a great photos too.

wawww ... this story taught me how to look after children, play and educate!! you parents that are dodgy.
I loved your story.
Thanks @khackett

Good post my friends love it I always follow your success always and in blessing @khackett

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13