Steemit Open Mic Week 108 - Tom Waits "Tango Till They're Sore"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Surprise! It's me. First time I've ever recorded a video of myself. Urgh, I've finally joined the 21st century.

This is my first open mic entry, obviously. I want to share some original songs but I wanted to try out a cover first. I've got a guitarlele to substitute for my regular guitar which I am currently in a long distance relationship with. The guitarlele is in the key of A so it's a bit of a reach for me, but I don't think it's too jarring.

Please don't sue me Tom Waits, I am not Pepsi. If you want some steem just ask I will send them your way.

If you like what you hear consider checking out my music and fiction @ I+Everything

Thank you

Love
Pineapple / Z / I+Everything / whatamidoing

Sort:  

Nice job. Upvoted for Tom Waits. Do "Step Right Up" next.

I've thought about learning 2 or 3 more Tom Waits songs. I don't do covers much but Tom Waits is so fun.

Christmas card from a hooker in Minneapolis is my favorite song.

Hey @whatimdoing <3

Nice guitarlele, love it!

Cheers from Brazil!

Feel free to check our music @trilumia

Nice @whatamidoing, you sang that really well, I really enjoyed it! I hope to get a video up one day, finding it a bit strange talking to the screen though xxx

i hate it as a thing everyone does all the time, but I really liked doing it for the first time, like weight off my shoulders :-D

Awesome! :>)

This put a big smile on my face for many reasons. I'm sure it must have been awkward but there's nothing to be ashamed about. This is very good and halfway the song, my left foot began tapping along.

Nice voice, instrument and worthy cover of a song that I'm not 100% sure about I've ever heard before.

P.S. I like how you laugh after uttering the word(s) 'whatamidoing' and the little giggle at the end.

i just wish I had a big guitar for a fuller song :-D Thanks man!

I totally get it but I think it looks good on you and was just right for the occassion.

Bigger isn't always better ;>)

( says the guy who is using a tiny GoPro hero 5 black to film his project )

Love your voice! Definitely do more!!

"I really forget the words to this song but I still can sing along" ha ha.. gave me a giggle. :D

Cheers!
♥-Serena

Also, are you on discord?

yes yes come find me!!

Thank you so much!

Nice one!.. you look like the brother i never had!

lovely song mate

We should start a discord/steemit group called "Unbelievably Attractive Bald Men"!

Thanks!

You seem to be so nervous at the beginning, but once you started to play and sing, all of this disappeared and you were yourself. I loved your performance. I have never heard of guitarlele but it does have a very special sound. Great song! I loved it!

It's a tiny guitar in the key of A. It's great for practicing, so long as you can get used to the tiny frets. Thank you!

nice dude! Full marks for jumping in! Sounding great, and cant wait to hear some of your originals :)

Thanks! Looking forward to sharing them!

Anyone who jumps in with Tom Waits is cool with me. Great job, brother!

You are welcome. Looking forward to your next entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61430.70
ETH 3318.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49