OPEN MIC WEEK 16 - Strange Music by Transhuman

in #openmic8 years ago

open mic 16.png


The song, "Strange Music", comes from the stage play and motion picture titled Song of Norway which tells the story of the famous Norwegian composer, Edvard Grieg. "Strange Music" is based on Edvard Grieg's "Nocturne" and "Wedding Day in Troldhaugen" with the musical adaptation done by Robert Wright and George Forrest.


Strange Music

Strange music in my ears,
Only now as you spoke did it start,
Strange music of the sphere,
Could its lovely hum be coming from my heart?

You appear and I hear song sublime,
Song that I'm incapable of,
So dear, let me hold you near,
While we treasure every measure,
So that time can never change
The strange new music of love.

You appear and I hear song sublime,
Song that I'm incapable of,
So dear, let me hold you near,
While we treasure every measure,
So that time can never change
The strange new music of love.



Here is my submission to Open Mic 16...


My interpretation of "Strange Music" is performed on a Korg Microarranger with its powerful advanced sound engine. I gave the piece a Romantic/Classical feel because Grieg is widely considered one of the leading Romantic era composers, and his music is part of the standard classical repertoire worldwide.

Sort:  

Thanks for entering the Open Mic, beautiful chords played and nice interpretation. Upvoted

Thanks for your encouraging support! I see you are doing well on SoundCloud. I joined the 1000s of your followers...

You are most welcome, and thank you for being one of my followers, I do hope you enjoy the vast diverse amount of music I share often. Steem on friend.

Thanks for playing for us at Open Mic.

Nice one. Up voted! Smooth sound.

You sound like this, but a bit lower... Play them both together :-)

You sound like this.... Play them both together. It goes together :-)

I hear the resemblance, a mystical/sacred kind of sound.

Your comment motivated me to see what googling "Edvard Grieg" + Rosicrucian resulted in. Unfortunately, not much save the fact that Grieg did at one point meet up with Erik Satie who was known for his Rosicrucian connection. In 1891 he was the official composer and chapel-master of the Rosicrucian Order "Ordre de la Rose-Croix Catholique, du Temple et du Graal", led by Sâr Joséphin Péladan, which led to compositions such as Salut drapeau!, Le Fils des étoiles, and the Sonneries de la Rose+Croix. Satie gave performances at the Salon de la Rose + Croix, organized by Péladan.

Thanks for a reply that really piqued my interest!

Just dropped in for a quick upvote and a message: https://steemit.com/steemstock/@riosparada/steemstock-2017-a-quick-announcement
FULL STEEM AHEAD!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.15
ETH 2428.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65