Steemit Song Collaboration Project - Update #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Ten days ago I posted about doing one huge steemit collaboration song. You have probably seen these before. At the bottom of this post is an example of such a project and is the kind of thing we would be striving for but with Steemit musicians!

My first post regarding this is here -
https://steemit.com/openmic/@tim-rumford/calling-all-steemit-musicians-let-s-do-one-huge-collaboration-song

So after getting some great feedback and some offers to participate I am ready to take this to the next level. I am serious about this. I'm going to make this happen but I can use and need all the help I can get. Come on Steemit let's make beautiful music together!

To get some hype going about this project we will be doing a contest to help choose the song. Thank you @achraf7b for making the point about needing a contest. I will foot the bill for the prizes. I have 100 SBD set aside so far just for this purpose. I am thinking the best way to do this is like an open mic. But I need help in doing some graphics, setting up the judging and rules. If you have any ideas regarding this please post them in the comments and/or ask for an invite to Discord. Questions I have in my mind are what types of songs will we allow? Covers or originals or both? And what genres if any will we not allow? I want to make this as inclusive as possible. But the song choice needs to be judged very differently than a normal open mic. We will be looking for something that makes the most sense and allows for the most participation. I think it would be fun to include other languages as well. All this is open to discussion. And we will have good prizes for 2nd & 3rd or possibly a separate category based on the quality rather than the choice.

If successful perhaps we can make this a thing. I do want to make one thing clear. I do not want to negatively impact the regular open mic in anyway. In fact we should promote the openmic along the way. It should compliment it. So for the contest and going forward after this post we will use are own tag #SSCP

I have created a Discord server for this project. If you want to be invited please let me know in the comments and specify if you want to to be a music contributor or help in some other way, such as being a judge, doing graphics, audio/video editing , promotion, moderator, brainstorming etc.

I want to thank the people that responded to my initial post. I have mentioned this project to MSP, PAL and the Steemit Music Society in chat. As we get further down the road and people see this as a serious project, I think we will pick up a lot of traction.

I will be inviting the following people to the new SSCP Discord tomorrow who already expressed interest or was mentioned as possibly wanting to be involved. If you are going to be a contributing musician you don't have to join the Discord channel but you are welcome and I hope you do. The chanell us up but I have a bit more setup to do tonight. I created a little graphic at the bottom of this post but I am not a graphics person. Perhaps I will run a small contest for that too.
Please comment with your discord user name
@likedeeler
@stillgideon
@mathworksheets
@rishi2184
@kjablonski (vocals)
@achraf7b
@cabbagepatch (video editing)
@cryptoted ( because he is my best friend and an awesome musician. You're doing this Ted!)
I would like to set a goal of announcing the contest in the next 2 weeks. For updates you can always check #SSCP.

@stillgideon posted this example that I just love. This is a perfect example as anyone or any group of people can participate by singing. But we certainly want to showcase instrument players too.

🎝Steemit Song Collaboration Project
SSCP3.png

Humble member of -
#Ecotrain
#Whalepower 🐋
MSP-PAL

Check out steemits weekly open mic!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-47-record-your-performance-on-your-phone-enter-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Sort:  

I love it! That is an awesome video and a great idea. We need a song we can all recognize around the world but maybe change the lyrics to say steemit.

How about Steemit Up little darling Steemit it up.? Like this:

credit

Let's do it! Upvoted and Resteemed!

Ha, that's a great one, very uplifting atmosphere there, just woke up with this, what a way to start the day, thanks :-)

Oh thanks so much it means a lot to me to have your support!!! Damn you may kill the contest that's a great song choice! Exactly along the lines of what I had in my mind. Hmmm haha I may have to alter my idea a bit to make the contest work.

What was @bubke's song choice? I'm curious now...

I don't think he had one yet. Were still in conception stage for the contest.
@luzcypher had the great idea above. Which I love. Doing a steemit theme. but were still going to hold a contest to give others a chance to pick a tune and get some hype built up.

Very happy to hear you are taking this further, every revolution needs a song. Hope to contribute songwise, please invite me for discord!

this is an amazing idea.. Love what you are doing here.. hope to see some fruits of your labour soon!

definitely could tag this ecoTrain ;-)

Thanks!! I was just about to ask. The support means much to me. I LOVE #ecotrain!

Really happy to hear ur positive feedback. It really helps and encourages me ;)

nice!

I'm in!

Please give me your discord user name. Or register at discordapp.com and then drop it here and ill add you. Thanks

This is something I'd be interested in if I can figure out how to record my part, whatever that might be.
I'd like to join your discord channel also.

You can use your phone to record. Please give me your discord user name. Or register at discordapp.com and then drop it here and ill add you. Thanks

I use the same name in Discord that I use on steemit. I'm on the PAL channel and a couple of the others.

Can't wait to see the results!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36