You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 145 : The Bonnie Ship the Diamond(traditional)w/The Pastry Case

in #openmic5 years ago

I like those Celtic tunes. I am sure you know Gordon Lightfoot https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-country/gordon-lightfoot-edmund-fitzgerald-songs-815035/
.... but, have you ever been to Nova Scotia?

Sort:  

I love Gordon Lightfoot!
Sundown was my dad's favorite song.
I've only been to Canada once, and I didn't go to Nova Scotia. I think Stan Rogers was from there.
It seems like it would have a sweet music scene!

Nova Scotia is more Scottish than Scotland, lol - they are very strong on tradition.
And then, there is the Irish tradition, also very strong in the Maritimes of Canada, particularly Newfoundland, where Ireland's Riverdanceis very popular.

Wow. I JUST figured out that Nova Scotia literally means New Scotland.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59