Steemit Open Mic Week 145 : The Bonnie Ship the Diamond(traditional)w/The Pastry Case

in #openmic5 years ago

Steemit Open Mic Week 145 : The Bonnie Ship the Diamond(traditional)w/The Pastry Case
cover.jpg

Happy Half Moon Steemit!

I've been hoping to do a song on Steemit with my band for a while.
This was recorded at the open mic that we host together on Thursday nights.

This is a song about one of the 20 Scottish whaling ships(also the Eliza Swan and The Resolution) that got frozen into the ice in Greenland in 1830.

I hope to do more songs for open mic with them in the coming weeks.
Peace and Long Life Steemit!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your music. It is great.
It looks like you are playing a Bodhrán. Pardon my ignorance if it isn't.
I had one as a kid. I don't think I was any good at playing it, but I loved to smash it along to any tune. You do a beautiful job.
I look forward to more.

It is a bodhran!
I got it a couple of months ago.
It's fun to play along with almost anything:D

I like those Celtic tunes. I am sure you know Gordon Lightfoot https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-country/gordon-lightfoot-edmund-fitzgerald-songs-815035/
.... but, have you ever been to Nova Scotia?

I love Gordon Lightfoot!
Sundown was my dad's favorite song.
I've only been to Canada once, and I didn't go to Nova Scotia. I think Stan Rogers was from there.
It seems like it would have a sweet music scene!

Nova Scotia is more Scottish than Scotland, lol - they are very strong on tradition.
And then, there is the Irish tradition, also very strong in the Maritimes of Canada, particularly Newfoundland, where Ireland's Riverdanceis very popular.

Wow. I JUST figured out that Nova Scotia literally means New Scotland.

Congratulations @tarotbyfergus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59722.01
ETH 3267.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36