Open Mic Week 52: Oxford Town

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem Community,


One-Year Anniversary, Yeah! 


I was totally bummed to not be in last week's contest, but life got a little busy. I think that is only my second time missing haha. I am keeping with the Dylan covers this week. This is a really fun song in dropped-D tuning. "Oxford Town" (from the legendary "Freewheelin' " Album, 1963) is a two-chord masterpiece in my opinion. The way the chords are fit in to a beautiful ring with the D tuning is hard to miss. 



Hope everyone enjoys, and let me know what you think. 


Have a great start to the week!


Cheers!


Feel free to follow for more posts on music/health/science/travel/and more.

Thanks to @pfunk @luzcypher @verbal-d @soundlegion for creating/judging this great contest and to all my fellow performers out there keeping-it-real. 

Sort:  

Its been a while I listened to your music. Lovely as ever!

Thanks man. All the veterans are gathering for the open mic celebration. Hope you are well. Let's keep up the energy.

I agree with @passion-ground on this one. You nailed this. It has been a joy watching your playing get better every week and it really has. Amazing what picking up the guitar often can do for your playing.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Guitar for me is that escape from the day. It is great for clearing the mind at times. I owe a great deal of gratitude to you and many others for making me better! This contest is something I look forward to every week. One-year in, and I hope for many more to come. Thanks for growing this contest. I wish you the best in trying to get to Steem Fest 2! Cheers!

That was fun to watch you enjoy yourself performing this Dylan classic! Very well done. I'm glad you had a chance to be in open mic this week!

Thanks man! Had to put a little more energy into the openmic one-year-anniversary. Appreciate the listen as always. Steem is alive and well.

So very frikkin' nice, Doc! This might be one of my favorites of your's yet! Loved your intro, confidence, and the willful passion and ease with which you laid this bad boy down! ... NICE!

Really appreciate the compliments. I've never been one to shy away from performing but the ease grows every week my friend. I really like your passion in-between the strums. You have a very unique way of emphasizing lyrics that I may have to adopt in my own form as well. Thanks for stopping by!

My pleasure, Doc... I'm really enjoying watching you grow here - and to coin a phrase from the Beatles, you're getting better all the time!

great job this week my friend... put you up in my honorable mentions this week for openmic. love hearing you play. got some of my favorite swag on here.... :) huge smiles all day

Thank you so much for the mention! I try to bring the heat and glad that you enjoyed the energy. Hope you are well. I'm super busy with residency, but you know I would be on here a lot more if I had some time. This is the place to be. Keep up the great music.

Really enjoyed this one man

ah well that was kindof fantastic my dear ! and again a real classic to listen to ...

Thanks! A fun one to play for sure

definitely the heart of a musician my dear friend...I like the vibes

Much appreciated coming from a class act guitar player! Thanks man.

great job! I love Dylan so much x

Thanks for listening!

Sounds like fun. I have to check my work schedule I'm working 6 days a week for over a month. Thanks for checking out the song

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50