Steemit Open Mic Week 60 - Original Drum Solo (Use headphones/speakers with bass)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Here's my second open mic entry as a good old fashioned drum solo as if I hopped up live on stage. I don't have other equipment, or help to produce anything more than this, so I hope you enjoy it for what is it.

I had a small window to play with my neighbors gone, so no time to prep, warm up or do extra takes to make it perfect. Just turn on the drum set and see what happens over a budgeted 15 mins... Just like when live on stage when your guitarist's equipment fails. Matt! Do something!

You won't be able to hear much of the drums as intended if you don't use quality headphones or speakers that have good bass. You can't see my feet, but I'm sure you'll notice that I'm playing a double bass pedal. You won't hear most of it if you play off a phone or laptop.

Thanks for listening and your consideration for the contest. Hopefully I'll have more secure time to put my best foot/feet forward next week.

Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk, and all judges, supporters and viewers.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Dude, man - this is a most awesome fucking solo, brother! I was totally into it - from the onset - right until the end - and I loved every triplet and beyond... This was a frickin' intensely impressive performance, brother... Right the Fuck On! Keep that Kit Kickin', man!

Thanks for listening so closely and the strong vote of confidence. It means a lot since this is new terrain. This platform is starting to get me get out of my drumming shell as I've usually stayed out of the spotlight, or have been hidden behind a full band.

For entertainment, I posted two short live band clips (Link Here) for some acoustic contrast. This was my first band since college after taking over 6 years off because I was stupid to let someone talk me out of pursuing music. Feel free to check it out.

Thanks for sharing such a great and insightful post into your personal journey and experience! The clips were rather cool to say the least - nothing like live performances in front of a "live" audience... Yeah man, - take your shit to the next level, dude! Guitarists are a dime-a-dozen, however, good drummers are extremely hard to come by - and brother, you're a damn good drummer, man! Keep kickin' it my man!

Really solid entry @steemmatt. I have a suggestion, maybe try drumming over many different types of instrumental tracks (especially jazzy hiphop :)), even if it has basic drum layering or a repetitive loop. Your drumming, as skilled as it is, definitely is not the same without music because drums are the backbone to music, and the music will enhance the experience for sure.

Understood, and thanks for the proactive advice. I was considering something like that for an upcoming try since my first two were feeling around in the dark. I have an idea or two, but have to see if I can find the right drumless tracks to make it work. I'll figure this out soon enough.

So glad to see you figured out a niche bro!

Hey @verbal-d - it seems like my entry for Week 63 was tacked on to Week 62 accidentally. Did you get a chance to hear my entry or could it hopefully count for week 63? I redid the video today thinking it was for Week 63 and saw myself added to the Week 62 list today somehow, even though I didn't enter. Don't want it to go to waste since I intended to do a redo before I officially entered on the Week 63 list.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@steemmatt/steemit-open-mic-week-63-metal-drums-improvised-over-a-backing-track-use-headphones-speakers-with-good-bass

no worries bro i just posted my top 5 list on my page (feel free to check it out). i will listen to your entry for week 63 you are locked in and ready to go, thanks for the heads up!

The solo performance is damn impressive, 2:40 -3:00 is hypnotic.

Thank you very much.

Nice set. Good to hear more from you.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Great solo ;) I need to get my fingers on this level :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68683.05
ETH 3860.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66