Open Mic Week 75 ~ Radiohead ~ CREEP [Drum Cover]

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Like Radiohead? Check out this drum cover of their famous song Creep on my electronic set. I switch up the kit towards the end to a "cosmic" setting to pay a little homage to their style. The songs gets heavier around 2:00 so stick with it.

I didn't realize there was a new rule for having your account name in the beginning, so I had to punch in a short clip in the front with an updated paper printout to prove its me. Editing the video reduced the ratio/visual quality, but it was the best I could do without editing experience. The original/better video is below my judge's entry.

**Please use headphones or speakers with good bass to hear all of the electronic kit and different effects at the end. The difference is drastic when compared to laptop speakers, etc..

FOR THE JUDGES w/ account name added to qualify:

Better video quality w/o account name in intro:

Thanks for listening,

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Matty, you sexy beast. you can plan me any day...

Really cool playing haven't enjoyed this song that much since I heard homeless man play it

BTW nice muscles... Also, smile a little.

Hahaha, creepy coming from anyone else BUT you. I'm impressed that you found this video of me before I got my act cleaned up. Thanks for listening. I really appreciate it. It takes a bit of time to get a good track and is a let down when nearly no one hears it.

I've actually seen most of your videos and enjoy your drumming. I either forget to upvote or rush away.

Come on discord whwn you get a chance.

YEEESSS! I love this song and I really enjoyed listening to your drum cover! Don’t worry... I listened to the good version with proper headphones. 😉

This is TIGHT! Awesome.
Out of curiosity; how often do you practice?

Thanks! I don't practice the drums really to get better, but I should. It's better to do that on an acoustic set since the electronic doesn't feel nearly as real or have the same dynamics.

If I play these days, it's just to put together a song for Steemit (not too often), or previously in music studios to jam with some friends.

Any song I find is something I can easily play by ear, so I just play it over and over until I get a take where I'm happy enough to present it. I can usually play anything in a 4/4 time signature by ear, feel, or memory.

I recognize your strategy of repetition. It's my strategy as well, for learning pretty much anything, including to play the guitar. Practice makes perfect etc.

I have a proposition for you: I've been practicing to cover this song for a couple of months now. Still a work in progress and I still have at least 1 additional month of practice to go before I'll be ready to record anything.
I'll be playing the guitar and doing the vocals and friend of mine (a music producer) will be in charge of the production and mix -- I'm planning to make this an entry in #openmic, and also as an audio only dsound post.

So my proposal is; Would you be interested in doing the drums? Sure, we could record them on a keyboard, but that's not the same, and besides, neither my friend or me are drummers. It would be awesome to get the job done by someone that knows what they're doing.

I'll be doing a video of my performance -- if you record a video as well, we could do the picture-in-picture thing. Or not.
Either way, it would be important to get a high quality recording of your drums for the mix. I'm guessing that won't be a problem if you use your electronic kit. If you want to do it on a real kit, proper recording equipment for drum kits would be required as well.

I would of course never publish anything with your name on it, before letting you hear the results first and getting your approval. But that's further down the line.

You interested?

Wow, didn't know you were working on that! Sure, I'm happy to help, as long as it's not polka music. If you have a scratch track, I could try to get used to the song and see how natural/well I could play the drums for it. My drum module just need an MP3 file to play along to.

He he, definitely not polka music -- I posted a link for the song above (in case you missed it).

I don't have a scratch track yet but I'll get right on that. Should be able to provide one within a couple of weeks time. In the meantime you could rip the original song to mp3 from youtube, if you want to give it a go before that.

Very cool that you're on board. This will be an interesting project.

sexymatty doing what he does best beating it creepily sexily ;)

Well done!

btw. great job encouraging the contestants at COM in round 3!

Thank you mucho.

Good track, man! Nice drum cover! I really enjoyed this, bro!

Thanks a lot. It has a slow build up, but it rocks towards the end.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Next time please follow the rules and say your username at the start of your video. Thank you

@luzcypher - Did you see the first video where I had the piece of paper shown at the front with my account name on it?

I think I can do vocals if I start the clip with the audio input as my laptop's mic, but then have to go to settings and switch the input back, then plug the usb in from the drums, which makes the song start delayed and sloppy.

If you're ok with the piece of paper at the front with my account name as an exception given the electronic drums situation, that'd be appreciated if it's not going to give me a disadvantage.

paper is fine bro as long as you flick it with your drumstick lol
Nice entry you sure did jam out towards the end
The best drummer on Steemit easily

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62