Steemit Open Mic Week 47 "Lion" (cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

One of my all time John Fahey favourites is Lion from the 1968 "Yellow Princess" album. I attempted this back in the early 70s and even as inadequate as it was back then (and still is TBH), it became one of my most requested pieces. My girlfriend (Sarah), back then encouraged my playing and as my wife of 44 years, she still does, God bless her. I suppose I have recorded this particular piece for posterity while I can still actually manage it. When I am no longer able to accomplish this particular feat, I might sit with Sarah and listen to it and recall those youthful days. We'll perhaps then listen to the original and remember just how very fine the late John Fahey was at his craft.

I hope you enjoy my attempt at it anyway.

Once again, I bow to @luzcypher for keeping everything right here and also to @pfunk for the continued financial support. Also a nod to the additional judges for doing what is probably pretty thankless at times. Well done to you all.

Sort:  

Great job, on an amazing guitar symphony!
Well, it's on the blockchain now, Brother,
and available for us and future generations.
Thank you :)

It is indeed my friend and thank you for lending your ear and commenting.

Sounds a difficult piece to play and you did great. I hope you are able to continue playing for many years to come.

Great effort Geoff! I would need a third hand to make it sound like two people are playing the guitar. Sounds like a tricky piece to play and like it would take a lifetime to master. We'll done 👍

Thanks there Trevor. TBH, I suppose the real difficulty of a piece gets lost a bit when you've played it for years. I do remember this one was very frustrating and I still always feel I could have played it better. Cheers 👍

I like your performance. Love the guitar! This one has some special sound to it, A bit higher pitch with this typical kinda metal sounds to it. Mark Knopflers guitar can have similar sounds in some of his productions. Have no clue myself of guitars, but you may already understood that from how I try to explain the above :) Like it.

Thank you for your nice comments. As it happens, Mark Knopfler is probably my biggest guitar hero! 👍

Ow great! Mine too, especially his early solo productions I like really much, mostly film music and soundtracks he made. I just made a post about that if you are interested. Looking fwd to hear more of your own playing. Keep them coming into our community.

Thanks, I'll look up your post. Pleased you like my playing. 👍

Man, you're a badass.

Being a 64 yr old from the UK, I can only hope that being called a "badass" is a compliment! 😊 I take any I can get these days... anyway, thanks mate. 😉👍

Yeah it's a compliment for sure

Nice right hand technic...!!!

Great stuff Geoff. The piece really gathered pace beautifully and you were really having it by the end. Great look of determination on your face. I can empathise! :-)

Well thank you sir. I can pull the best "guitarists face" and that's just when I am tuning! 😉😏

Have you seen this?

Too funny and too true!

Incredible. Pssh those fingers will rock into eternity. Ooooee, I got the chills right around 3:44. Cheers

Thanks for the confidence there and I would like to think so. I'll keep going until anyway! 😉👍

Wowweee!!! You killed it on those fast parts!!! Such a skilled guitarist <3 <3 xo!!

Thanks Lyndsay. As I said, Lion has always been one of my favourites. 👍

Geoff, your picking roared like a lion here! I especially enjoyed the tempo change and the bar “pull-offs” you did in the latter half of the song. …

I sure wish I could pick like that… You dang-near made that thing sound like banjo! Great rendition!

PS. I also very much liked the sentiments you shared relative to this song at the top of your post…

Hey thanks mate. Your comments are heartily appreciated. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54