Steemit Open Mic Week 42 Forty and Bone Dry (original song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Open Mic Week 42 Forty and Bone Dry (original song)

Hi there fellow Steemians,

I wrote this tongue in cheek song for a mate back in 1990. The final verse, which is rather more personal to me, was added last year when I was actually 63!

Forty And Bone Dry

I was driving along just the other day through the wind and the pouring rain
When a guy came by on a motorbike his eyes screwed up in pain
About twenty I guess but he was only dressed for riding fine and dry
In his jeans of blue and a fine tattoo and now I bet he’s wondering why

I’d rather be wet and twenty than forty and bone dry
An’ I’d ride that rain right outta them jeans beneath the next blue sky
An’ thinking back down life’s stony track, just how fast life goes by
So I’d rather be wet and twenty than forty and bone dry

Now in my old Ford I feel quite a lord, in fact I’m king of the road
As I travel around this beautiful town, still trying to loosen my load
An’ I’m feeling fine though my teeth ain’t mine and my weight’s just a little bit high
My hair’s getting thin, I’ got a double chin so it ain’t no wondering why!

I’d rather be wet and twenty than forty and bone dry
An’ I’d ride that rain right outta them jeans beneath the next blue sky
An’ thinking back down life’s stony track, just how fast life goes by
So I’d rather be wet and twenty than forty and bone dry

Well I wrote this song back in 91 for a touring mate of mine
Cos’ even back then his teeth weren’t his and his dome was startin to shine
And as for me, now I’m 63, but everything’s my own
Though my hair turned white I guess that’s alright...
An’ I’m not so fit cos’ my joints are shit...
Cos you are what you eat I’ve got trotters for feet...
I’ve got a wrinkle or two but then so have you
I guess I’ve got no reason to moan

Still I’d rather be wet and twenty than forty and bone dry
An’ I’d ride that rain right outta them jeans beneath the next blue sky
An’ thinking back down life’s stony track, just how fast it all went by
So I’d rather be wet and twenty than forty and bone dry
So I’d rather be wet and twenty than forty and bone dry

That's all folks!

Thank you for watching and listening and keep up the good work Luzcypher, the whales and everyone else who makes this platform possible.

"I'd be delighted if you would care to follow me although I have no idea where I am going, however that need not prevent us from enjoying the journey together.

Sort:  

awesome. great job!

Cheers thanks.

Add a boombox tag to other music for a resteem

You play with such ease, I love it! Fingerpicking guitar is my favorite.
Sounds great, excellent work!

Thank you very much Isaria, your comments are really important to me. 😊

Your comments are important to me too!
Also, the hook of your song was stuck in my head for a while after I listened to it!!!

As a songwriter, that can only be good! We all look for an earworm when composing. 👍😉

Great job. Thanks for sharing!

My pleasure TBH and thank you for the comment.

great. this is cool. thanks for sharing @steelygeoff

Thank you (everyone) for listening and leaving a reply .

We loved it!, well done.

Hi you two! Thanks for that but also for posting some good material yourselves, both covers and more importantly to me at least, originals! 👍

Nice post. Very entertaining and creative. Good work and good content. Will continue to follow. Enjoyed your post.

Hi there and thank you for your kind comment, it means a lot.

Cheers

Loved that whimsical truth-laden catchy tune! I can totally relate Mate... Simply brilliant!

Thanks for your support p-g. I wish we were closer man, I am convinced we have many things in common! Red wine, guitars and good songs being the most important... 🎸🎸🎤🎤🍷🍷🍷🍷🥃🥃🥃🥃 👍

Me too brother... me too!

Great style with the picken and singing! Nice vocals and lyrics too!

Thanks there Oliver (or do you prefer Ollie/Olly?) 😊

Thanks for brightening up my day @steelygeoff And I did follow you for certain!

Would you consider posting the ONE SONG YOU CAN'T STOP LISTENING TO right now, on my Blog Contest #OneSong?

https://steemit.com/onesong/@jknsmiles/onesong-i-can-t-stop-listening-to-contest

I've posted mine and I hope you enjoy her! I look forward to knowing what song lands on your playlist everyday!

Let's promote music on #steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45