Steemit Open Mic - Week 70: Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings (Father John Misty Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey guys! Welcome to Week 70 of the Steemit Open Mic! I can't believe it's alread week 70! Although I usually write and perform my own songs, I do cover a few, and this week decided to play one of my favorites: Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings by Father John Misty. Lyrics below. I Hope you enjoy!


Jesus Christ, girl
What are people gonna think?
When I show up to one of several funerals
I've attended for Grandpa this week

With you
With me
But someone's gotta help me dig
Someone's gotta help me dig

Jesus Christ, girl
It hasn't been long so it seems
Since I was picking out an island and a tomb for you
At the Hollywood Cemetery

You kiss
On me
But we should let this dead guy sleep
We should let this dead guy sleep

Jesus Christ, girl
I laid up for hours in a daze
Retracing the expanse of your [Canadian] back
With Adderall and weed in my veins

You came
I think?
'Cause the marble made my cheeks look pink
But I'm unsure of so many things

But someone's gotta help me dig
Someone's gotta help me dig
Someone's gotta help me dig


Thanks for listening, thanks to all the judges, and good luck to all!

DQmfYQX1Xn5VbjvkhP9VsZ7WwkeCR3qGxzttcuP3mapqENb_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Very cool cover, man. Never heard it before - I really like your rendition of it!

Hey, since I became aware of your most recently published book, I just had to mention you in a recent post of mine. For what it's worth, here it is...
https://steemit.com/btc/@passion-ground/a-pathway-to-usd66-000-btc-by-july-of-2018-for-my-friend-ew-and-patterns

Haha, nice! Thanks for the shoutout! Will check it out now. By the way, if you or anyone you know is interested, the link to the eBook is here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078VCS6W8. Also available in paperback. It's a beginner's guide--more for people just discovering cryptocurrency who want to get involved in buying/holding/trading, with some basic strategy pointers. 128 pages total.

so awesome. swear each time you start singing my body reacts, love your voice so much. love the you sing jesus christ. ;) great tune

Thank you thank you thank you!

@stanhopeofficial Great cover man! Dig the emotion you put into the performance too. Your voice reminds me of Gordon Gano. Definitely going to go check out some of your original tunes!

Thanks a lot @trevorpetrie!

Great performance my friend! Your quality does not get affected by performing unoriginals!! You do as awesome as usual!! You shine either way!

You are so very welcome!

Awesome job buddy!

Nice one bro, really cool! Always love a bit of Father John.

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60