Steemit Open Mic - Week 61: Bare Feet and Sand Dollars (Original Song)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

WELCOME! to another Steemit Open Mic week! Week 61 already?! Time flies when you're setting up recording stuff each and every week for the Steemit open mic! hahaha. Seriously though guys, thanks for all the support thus far! And big congrats to everyone who participates every week! And of course, thank you to the excellent judges! You guys rock.

Here's a song I wrote called Bare Feet and Sand Dollars. I hope you enjoy it. Lyrics below.


Driftwood rides the waves to my body
Almost in the same way you crawl under the sheets to kiss me
And it taps me on the shoulder
For a second I could have sworn it was you

Now I'm recollecting all my habits from last night
I keep them to myself
And I would stand up only if I knew
I wouldn't fall right back down

I'm falling back in love with you
Falling off of this old bed
I'm falling back in love with you
Falling right back off the edge

And so I decide to finally roll over
To my surprise I get a mouth full of sand and salt water
And so this rising tide will show me what it's like to
Finally realize and change

I'm falling back in love with you
Falling off of this old bed
I'm falling back in love with you
Falling right back off the edge

But I'm tired of every night
A different problem and a different fight
And I don't see how it's alright
We never solve them we just say "goodnight"

I'm falling back in love with you
Falling off of this old bed
I'm falling back in love with you
Falling right back off the edge


Thanks for listening,
-Charles

Sort:  

Charles, aka @stanhopeofficial - this is another great song and entry! That effect on the guitar is pretty cool, dude - perhaps a tad hot, but rather cool nonetheless... Nice, man!

Haha, yes, heavy experimental reverb on this one! Had fun with it. Thanks @passion-ground!

Awesome job @stanhopeofficial! So impressive that you wrote this song! You have really great visual precence on camera too.

Thank you so much @coruscate! Means a lot.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

I actually can't get enough of this. I've now shown a few of my friends, just such a good tune

Awh, really?! Thank you so so much, Lucy!

this is so beautiful song sir wow!

Thank you @g10a!

Hey! really good! you are such a good musician... beautiful song..
your voice reminds me of some other artist.. i just don't remember who exactly.. but as soon as i remember.. i will tell you,.

Thanks for joining this week too! ♥ and sharing your own songs!

Thanks a lot @soykatonline! Yes, this weekly open mic has been a lot of fun! Glad you're a part of it as well.

On that note.. you should join the writers challebge too, since you write music as well, don’t you think?

I've been thinking about it. Seems like a lot of work! We'll see...

nice song, great singer!

Hey - if you want for fun, I'd be happy to lay some backing electronic drums to this for you. No worries if not. All I'd need is an .mp3 file.

Here's an example of a recent cover. I'd keep the drumming very simple since the focus is on your vocals.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@steemmatt/steemit-open-mic-week-59-drum-cover-of-red-hot-chili-peppers-dani-california

I've already got a drummer on this one dude but maybe we could pull something else together!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10