Sound Legion OpenMic Performance Tribute Post : @moderndayjester - A Jesters Tale

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey everyone out there in Steemit OpenMic land.    Most of you may know me as one of the official judges of OpenMic here on steemit.  I am also a full time recording artists, multi genre singer songwriter.   I collaborate over the wires and first hand with various sound stylists and artists to create expanding, fresh and experimental original music.   Sometimes I am able to jump in acoustically for openmic with a performance or two but its been sometime for me since I dropped something in with you guys.    I travel quite a bit and lately I have been just sunk.  To much going on at once, to much here and there, and a world spinning around me with innovation and communication.   

What I seek most: Inspiration

Inspiration is my life blood.    I am always out there looking for inspiration for my next project.    I seem to be quite behind on projects lately and sitting in this fog of watching the Lava flow update footage in Hawaii as Kilauea erupts.    I been needing something to pull this release out of me as these last weeks have been incredibly contemplative for me on some major levels.   

OpenMic: A constant source of Inspiration

Even in my hectic schedual I always try to make openmic judging a very high priority.   I love the community engagement and being a part of steemit has really changed my finacial life and given me more ways to earn for myself and also the people I work with.    I am a collaborative artists and an independent artist and I have been showcasing and working in collaboration with other artists for years before steemit and before the internet lol (oh God I was alive then) .    Every week on openmic I get the pleasure of sitting and listening to the incredible original and cover songs each and every one of you bless this community with.   I am inspired quite often and I need to thank you all for that, as you all now have taken part in my journey as a songwriter.    

OpenMic Week 88 : A Jesters Tale @moderndayjester

This last week of openmic judging there were some incredibly memorable performances that hit my top 5 judges picks.  @p4ragon 's voice in her Sia cover is still one I have gone back to in just aw of such an incredible vocalist.   Also on my list this week was @moderndayjester and his original piano track performed in a large church, A Jesters Tale.   He does some great beatboxin' and creates a very powerful original piece inside this very blessed and powerful location.   It seems @moderndayjester performs his original pieces inside these great church's and I am so down for this sound and mentality of thinking, he is creative and wild on those keys.   I was so inspired I was writing lyrics pretty much off the first listen to his track entry performance.     I could not get the feeling out of my head so I went ahead and pulled the audio off the video and put it up in my home studio to drop some original vocals and lyrics for the original beatbox and piano track.   Below you can listen to the original openmic entry for steemit openmic week 88 from @moderndayjester.   A Jesters Tale


I wanted to do a multi layer vocal for this track and also a visual for you all to enjoy.   I wanted something natural for the video to really symbolize this natural and organic process we all spring from and I wanted it to be emotive and almost spiritual in feeling so of course I turned to outer space and my never let me down favorite moon Enceladus, one of them tiny gems floating out there around Saturn.    This is my explosion of energy and my release.    I cannot even express accurately how valuable it was for me to create this piece and because of it, I am gonna be able to get my ars up and start moving again.   



Shavon Bonnie Legion @soundlegion - Modern Day Jester @moderndayjester

A Jester's Tale - Vocal Lyric Contribution and Collaboration


The audio will be a slight quiet so you will have to give it a good turn up in them ears.    Its the pulled performance video audio mixed with some multi layer vocals and affects to give a very strong over the skin vibe.   

Lyrics

Float beneath the lines,

oh I been gone away.

Rise beneath the lies,

oh I been gone astray,

Free my disguise, 

I'm stuck in the middle,

of my demise. 


There's serpents in my head,

and they fade from black to red,

Are you sitting down?

I'm spinning round!

We might be crazy


Float beneath the lines,

oh I been gone away.

Rise beneath the lies,

we might be crazy

we might be crazy


OHHHH!!!  ( a heavenly release into the stars) 


Huge love to you all and thanks for listening.   All SBD from this post goes to @moderndayjester may this discovering exploring kindred sound nomad find incredible things on his journey of life.    ;)

Check out more music from Steemit OpenMic week 88

https://steemit.com/openmic/@soundlegion/openmic-week-88-soundlegion-top-5-judges-pickes-honorable-mentions-top-picks-list

Shavon Bonnie Legion

@soundlegion


Sort:  

Beautiful words, haunting vocals, great work, love it!

You put the ill in freewill and had us all in standstill
Was more than mad chill, felt the grooves of the moves you smoothened at the bill
Loved the images, notes hit harder than tackle scrimmages, your skills are limitless, don’t know what a limit is, but a masterpiece, sassy sleek, wit is leaked oh yes it is

Verbal-d!!! I love you huge! you are mad awesome. This comment made my day . huge love to you and a bow acknowledgement your way to your well respected and wonderful talents. Wizard of words

WTF!!!!!!!

This is so friggin' amazing!


Just everything about it is incredible!
What an amazing collaborative creation!!!
Jaw-dropped!!!
PURE EMOTIVE POWER!
How can this not get resteemed!!! Total must share!!!

Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Dang, girlfriend! What a truly powerful coverasteemian/collab! You might want to bring this to the attention of @Pechichemena so that he can showcase it as well. I love what you did here... Inspiration is a profoundly beautiful thing! Hat's off to both of you! Great work!

This entry was a linger for me had to get those feelings out. What an honor to get be so circulated with talent on this level. Golden Inspiration! will hit @pechichemena up. Need to get in discord.

Just sent it over to Pechiche on discord... I'm sure he's gonna love it!

hello hello! @passion-ground and @soundlegion ! thanks for bringing this to me over here and on discord :)

This was amazing Bonnie , what a cool song and collab that you made here :) ! This type of encouragement and support through is what my little initiative #coverasteemian supports . Playing and tributing someone else's music that resonated with us and a way to just say ''thank you for your art'' , you even said you would transfer the SBD to @moderndayjester and that is exactly one of the main rules on my project ! :)

If you would let me , I'd like to feature this on my next ''Cover a Steemian'' post and maybe send some extra love your way and to @moderndayjester :)

Having said that ..you rock Bonnie :) !

Sending much love your way

Pechiche

fantastic pechi! I have heard of the coverasteemian but was unaware of the details of it and your running this up, so this is finally me getting active in it then lol.. apologies and also huge ups for taking on great project idea... take this one and run my friend... @moderndayjester has def stired me up with his talents.. huge love

This just made my day! Playing it on the big speakers right now and it sounds SO good. Love the collaborations guys. That church sound from @moderndayjester's piano is epic. Loved the video images and your voice, as always, has rooted in my soul.

Thanks, @sondlegion. Now I'm stuck with you forever. Hahahaha!

huge love to you luz! I am so glad you like this one very awesome open-mic performance and I am so blessed and honored to get to be able to add something to it. OpenMic is such a value here in so many ways, even as we see downturns in the site I expect we see lots different transitions ahead as we are moving with pure heart through sound here. A place for people to really let their gifts shine. Luv to ya always my friend, I am down with forever :) woo

Just had to stop by to listen again and add it to my music collection. This is SO awesome.

:) big love to you luz

Whats cooler than being coool? This Piece!!
WOw incredible Instrumental...Jesters Tale is really catch and such an appealing Video! Great Project :)

I am FLOORED. holy hell.. I mean your voice and these keys and just.. both... just I dont even have proper words that function through the typing in between my dazzlement and the cursor on my screen. I am in awe.

@paintingangels you are a precious gem in my book love your music and aura sooo much!! its means alot you dropping in and catching this one. @moderndayjester is pulling ice and fire out of me, gotta keep it going! mwah much love to you

Amazing vocals, amazing piano, and great dynamics :), loved it!

YES! This is so great. I also loved this piece when I first heard it and what you did with it really complimented and augmented what @moderndayjester has going. Crazy that the instrumental and beatbox was all recorded in one track/take into a cell phone mic.
Epic squared.

big ups to you @shookriya huge fan of your work. Thanks for dropping in and listening to this piece was hell of a pull out inspirationally. :)

I found your post through @pechichemena. I can't describe how beautiful this is and how amazing. I enjoyed watching you play. The music is part of you. Bravo! Bravo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15