Steemit open mic week 67 Passenger - Let Her Go (Cover by Ray Ray)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello everyone, hope you all had a great week! Foe those who don't know I am Ray Ray a.k.a. Real Amor. This is my entry for this week. I'll be singing a cover of Passenger's Let Her Go. I do apologize about the terrible lighting, not sure what I was thinking there. However it was a good take so I kept it anyway. Hope you enjoy and good luck to all entries!

Sort:  

really great voice my friend. I love this song and you nailed it great work

You must have missed the new rule change we had to make. It's in the post 3 times so people would see it and it reads.

NOTE: While we used to allow acapella performances to enter, recently there have been far too many entries of singers without any musicians. Open Mic is a community of musicians and for this reason entries without some musical instrument being performed will not be considered a valid entry. NO KARAOKE

We had to do this to stop all the really bad posts that had no musical quality to them whatsoever. Your performance does not fall into that category so I'm going to let it slide.

This sounds good. Open Mic is all about building a musician community here on Steemit and this performance is musical.

Your right, I did miss it. Thanks for letting it slide.

Just to make sure i got this right. I either A: Have to learn to play an instrument. B: Find someone who will play one for me every time I want to enter open mic. Or C: Be excluded?

We had a lot of really bad posts this week of people who are obviously not musicians and were only posting to gain the rewards which have risen considerably as of late. So we had to make this rule.

If you are singing to your own track or are a real musician as you obviously are, then you won't have to worry about it. For example. this is an acapella performance.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@alejandra23/steemit-openmic-week-67-fallin-from-alicia-keys-cover

But listen to her sing. That is music.

Sorry for the changes but we had to do it. Again, I don't think you need to be concerned because you sound great and it's clear you're here for the community.

What if I lease the track and have original lyrics. Does that still disqualify me. I'm not trying to be rude, I'm just trying to find a loop hole. I mean I have been perfoming in Steemit open mic for an extended period of time now and have placed on more than one occasion. If this a loop hole for me to continue entering let me know. Or if you can find a loop hole for me.

Thanks @luzcypher

Yo, Ray-Ray... I think you'll be cool, bro... You compose, write lyrics, sing, and all the rest... We just needed a means by which to keep the garbage in the trash heap - and your stuff, my friend - is by no means in such a category... This is a cool track man! Hang with us, and be patient... As in life, there are always exceptions to every rule, and in your case - you are such an exception, bro!

Well good thing steemit has a Karaoke contest as well!

Cool track and rendition, Ray-Ray... You are the man, brother!

Thanks man. Just to throw this out there, I never thought my musical talent was being called into question. I just wanted to continue entering. I'll stick with it.

Glad to hear that, man! Cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50