STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 46: "Follow me" (Spoof the Song of Uncle Cracker)

in #openmic7 years ago

First of all a big thank you to @pfunk and to @luzcypher for organizing and sponsoring this great event and bringing up a platform for all those talents, I've seen so far in this contest.

steemit_open_mic_46.png

Here is my new spoof for this contest:

(somehow I am joining in in the new fashion of asking everybody to "follow me"!)

If you want to sing along with me, here are the lyrics and the chords:

Uncle Pollux - Follow Me.

[Intro]

[Verse 1]

F

You don't know how you ended here
Bb
You don't know why
F Bb C F
You can't turn around and say goodbye
Bb
All you know is when you’re in here, you earn some steem
F Bb C F
And swim through the blockchain like a minnow in the sea
I'm singin

[Chorus]

           Bb        C       F

Follow me everything is all right
Bb C
I'll be the one to vote you up at night
F
And if you
Bb C
Ask for follow I can guarantee
F Bb C F
I will mute and never vote you what you soon may see

[Verse 2]

                    Bb

I'm not worried if you drama and swear
F Bb C F
Sometimes being toxic means I really do care
Bb
You're feelin’ much uncertainty but you should be aware
F Bb C F
Steemit is still in BETA and we shouldn’t much care
I'm singin

[Chorus]

[Bridge]

Gm
The UI is still shitty,
C F
that’s why I don’t invest
Gm
more than my time, this is what works for me best
G C
I have not many reasons more, this is just my way.
F
Still I love Steemit and I won’t go away

[Chorus]

           Bb              C       F

Follow me everything is all right
Bb C
I'll be the one to vote you up at night
F
And if you
Bb C
Ask for follow I can guarantee
F Bb C F
I will mute and never vote you what you soon may see

[Verse 1]

F

I don't know how they coded it,
Bb
I don’t know why
F Bb C F
You can upvote your own comments time after time
Bb
All I know is when you do that then I’m feelin’ free
F Bb C F
To flag for raping reward pool, while nobody can see.
I'm singin

[Chorus]

           Bb              C       F

Follow me everything is all right
Bb C
I'll be the one to vote you up at night
F
And if you
Bb C
Ask for follow I can guarantee
F Bb C F
I will mute and never vote you what you soon may see

PS: Sorry for the darkness in the take and all that looking on my script... I recorded about 10 versions but the first one had exceedingly less mistakes than all the others ;-)

I hope you enjoyed it,

Follow for more

yours, @pollux.one

Sort:  

Very nice!

wow what a music brilliant work and yeah i made a contest for everyone it would be great 2 see you there :)

Well... no idea if that was "brilliant", but I hoped it would be kind of funny. THX!

Great video , its wow amazing song
you shoud upload this video in DTUBE steemit
i think it will be HUUUGGEE:)

I really like the idea of dtube, believe it or not, I tried to use it...
The problem for me was:

No chance to upload (error: wrong formatting although I was using .mp4)
No possibility for using markdown or any other system to format text.
Giving away 25% of my earnings (wich would be fine, if the first 2 points were working)

DTube has a long way to go before being "worth" that amount.

THX anyway!

Good luck hopefully you land a place in the OMic :)

long time no see indeed!
I miss the owl!
she should post again!

btw .. why don't you teach guitar here? basic!
no one has done it yet :D

There are so many great musicians... Most of them deserve it more. For me it's the olympic idea: Taking part is everything!

This thing about teaching guitar on Steemit is really a niche to be filled (like a lot of teaching stuff). But I guess I am out of the business... had my last student like 10 years ago. Still it is a good idea.

(no news on @bellastella... I know, I should be ashamed)

yes .. bring back the owl!
haha
do the guitar class ..do it :P

Technically DTube must improve to be at the top, the idea is genial, having a youtube version in the steemit blockchain technology is really a great project
Have you tried to convert the video to a format accepted by dtube?

dtube says it should be in mp4... it was in mp4. No idea what I should convert then ;-)

I tried to upload my first entry (this week) to the open mic contest to Dtube and quickly realized that Dtube appends "dtube-" to the front of every tag you enter in the Dtube video upload. This of course invalidates the video from competing in the Steemit Open Mic Contest. You can't edit your first tag once a post is published to the blockchain. I had to discard a post for the first time (edit the post to remove all content and leave a note saying to ignore the post) :(

what amazing voice!!! thank you for sharing
upvoted and followed too

thx a lot! that made me blush a little bit ;-)

That was fun! 👏👏 Good one.

Thx. Your own performance was over the top, too. I can imagine how much work got into that skill over the years.

I like you a lot. And more like playing the guitar. Congratulations

Cool. I love how you wrote the lyrics and chords so we can play along.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

thx for organizing it. I like it myself, when it's not too hard to find lyrics and chords...

Really good voice man,honestly i really like how it sounds. Support from here man. Restemeed

Thx. In fact I was payed for singing (and also payed for stopping it ;-) )

Jajajaja i like your voice man honestly yes

I really enjoyed this my friend. I wish I could sing, but maybe in the next life. Looking forward to the next song.

THX man!

Everybody can sing ;-)
I used to lipsync in school until highschool, because I was afraid... Holding a tone has a lot to do with having no fear ;-) The rest is technique. Some voices sound better than others, true. But saying you cannot sing is just isn't.

Maybe it's time to start a new life right now?

You had a smile on my face the entire time. I have been (slowly, because I am actually listening :) ) working my way through this week's open mic entries all day today. .. and if I had a vote, you are my winner so far.

This goes beyond hilarious to touch a raw nerve and dance on the edge of a true Greek tragedy. Please follow me (to the edge and beyond) - much love - Carl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00