Open Mic Week 17 - "Mrs.Steemit" ( Spoof of "Mrs. Robinson" by S&G )steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

Hello everybody, long time no hear!

First of all I have to thank the Open Mic Team for creating such a great contest. Thx to @lucypher for hosting the event and thx to @pfunk for sponsoring it!

I missed a lot of Open Mics since my last contribution, I am very short on time these days. Even this contribution is "on the fly" and I had to upload the 1st take. Therefore please excuse the poor quality and mistakes ;-)

Disclaimer:

I really don´t want to offend anyone, just to point out the importance of voting. I chose the name @mrs.steemit as a placeholder for all those steemit rolemodels that do not vote, while being dependent on votes themselves. (And of course because the name fits into the song). I am aware that there is always a lot to do and business does not allow us to take the time for voting and all the other reasons. Voting for someone else feels like an appreciation for the voted person (even when done by a bot). Thus voting is not only about higher rewards, but for letting contributors not loose ther "interest". This is what the song is about!

For those who want to sing along (and those who can´t understand my badly pronounced english) here are the lyrics:

Mrs. Steemit

(Spoof of Mrs. Robinson by Simon & Garfunkle)

De, de de-de de-de, de-de de-de, de de-de
Do, do do-do do-do, do-do do
De-de de-de de de de-de de de de-de de

And here´s to you Mrs. Steemit
People will love you more when you will vote
less when you don't
So please vote more Mrs. Steemit
You'll loose interest, Bloggers will also...
so please vote more
please vote more

We´d like to write a little bit in blogs about our lives
We´d like to write ‘bout how to help yourself
Look around the Chain, you will see sympathetic eyes
Stroll around the Blocks until you feel at home

And here´s to you Mrs. Steemit
People will love you more when you will vote
less when you don't
So please vote more Mrs. Steemit
You'll loose interest, Bloggers will also...
so please vote more
please vote more

There is no more hiding place, the Chain reveals it all
Your Steem-power and your votings
There is no more secret, all turned to public affair
Most of all - you will find it in the Bits.
Coo coo ca choo Mrs. Steemit
The community will love you even more
When you´ll vote
So please vote more Mrs. Steemit
You'll loose interest, Bloggers will also...
so please vote more
please vote more

Sitting at a laptop on a Sunday afternoon
reading ´bout the rewarding debates
Laugh about it, shout about it … sure you got to choose
every way you do not vote, you loose
Why don´t you vote Mrs. Steemit
Community turns saddened eyes to you
Ooo ooo ooo
That´s what I say Mrs. Steemit
No voting will melt our love away
Hey hey hey… hey hey hey


thx @elyaque for the badges

Follow for more

yours

@pollux.one

Sort:  

can i please ask what open mic is about. does it have to be original songs and about steemit? i havent been able to see the video yet as i am still at work and videos are blocked!

Hey, thx for your interest in Open Mic.

I guess original lyrics about steemit are just my thing...
I guess also you´ll have the best chances with Original songs, but it´s an "open mic" so you can probably contribute whatever you want.

kk thank you a lot!

I see bellastella is a big fan of your music, she was back there listening intently the whole time.

Oh, yes. She literaly grew up with my musik... ( I thought, this would be a good influence on the bird).
Also I am glad someone noted her.

Very nice! Upvoted!

ich hau mich weg... und du spielst einfach geil gitarre. hut ab, das macht echt spaß!

Schön, dass es Dir gefällt.

@pollux.one - daring!

I love the lyrics! I see @bellastella sitting next to you - aint she hummin?

My dear! You have sharp ears ... almost like an owl... sure you havn´t been an owl in an earlier life?
Actually you are right. I was humming the bassline of "All about the bass" by Meghan Trainor. Probably you´ll recognize it, when you listen very closely!

I have to admit that we had a tiny argument about a missing bass... Glad my little protest hasn´t been unremarked.

Much love!
BellaStella

@bellastella yes I did
were you dancin and shakin your grooves while he was strummin?

loved your parody this was great. :) upvote big. with huge smile

Nice entry @pollux.one, not bad for an on the fly first take! Good cover and spoof fusion. Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01