Open Mic Week 12 - Sultans of SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

Hello Fellow Steemians!

At first I want to thank @luzcypher for organizing "openmic" and also a big thx to @pfunk, who seems to be a sponsor, too.

It´s been 20 years, since I´ve done my last recording (the ways have changed a bit) and I am really grateful that it has become so much easier. Although I am not ready to post some of my own stuff, I think, it would have been boring just to record a cover. So I did a mix of both, combining a rock classic with my original (and Steem related) lyrics.

Quite harder than finding the lyrics was to rediscover my long buried guitar skills. (Thx again... it was really fun!)

Sultans of Steem

You take a picture in the park
while it´s raining and it´s dark and meantime
south of the river you stop and write down everything
you then are posting it on Steemit
you feel alright when you see the votes coming in

Now you check your post but you don´t get to many comments
So much work, good votes, but the price is going down
Competition in other places
but one day it rises up from the ground

You check out your feed, voting up everything you find there
Mind, it´s strictly curation it will pay out in time.
Then you write comments on the stuff that makes you care
the community´s great and you feel fine

Many bloggers don´t mind if they do not make the scene
they have good ideas and are doing alright
They write articles like anything
Saving Steem up for coming time
We are the Sultans, we are the Sultans of Steem!

I hope you enjoyed it. I welcome everybody to use my lyrics in their own versions and promote Steem in a new and hopefully effective way!

Yours

@pollux.one

Sort:  

Hello @pollux.one

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

If you wish to support this initiative, join the Robinhood Whale voting trail on Streemian. Every vote counts!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

Thx a lot, I feel honoured...

Amazing version and great textwork. Really enjoyed listening!

Thx a lot, I am also enjoying your artwork and the actual Advent calendar...

Great entry and idea fusing both a cover and original together. You can really play guitar, I can only imagine how your true originals sound especially after you've warmed up and gotten back to your full form with your muscle memory in your fingers. I enjoyed this from start to finish. Thanks for entering the open mic and sharing your skills. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted

Means much to me, to hear this, especially from a musician. Your work is brilliant as well, I am kind of jealous of your various skills, shown on steemit so far!

Thank you for your very kind and extremely generous words, I only hope to inspire others as i am inspired by so many of you all here on Steemit. Our creativity feeds each other and the results are amazing. Looking forward to more of your guitar playing.

I love the guitar in this and your adaptation of the lyrics is awesome, all around a brilliant entry - good luck :)

Thx a lot! I enjoyed your acapella song, as well!

This is even better than the original! I've got my fingers crossed that your guitar playing stays above ground now. You're really good.

Thx, I hope so, myself. Steemit really gave me back so much creativity. A long lost and almost forgotten talent. I am very thankful!

Bery cool rework of the lyrics and nice guitar work. Thanks for playing and welcome to Open Mic.

Thx for the warm welcome, it was my pleasure!

very nice. I remember it now. Sultans of swing :)

Yes that was part of the fun, finding wordings very close to the original Dire Straits Song "Sultans of Swing", but giving them a totally new meaning...

I like it, this song brings back memories. :) good job

Klasse! Pollux.one als Multitalent. Upvoted and resteemed!

Vielen Dank! Das bedeutet mir echt viel!

Thank you for posting @pollux-one. These words reflect the Steemit experience....for so many....putting what you have to offer out there.

bleujay figures the more Steemit grows the better the chance of success...it is all in the numbers. ) .......right?

I really love how creativity is getting steemed up! Imagine 1 mio users instead of several thousand... Content backed currency!

Oh yes....imagined it since day one. This is a unique platform...without the freedom...and lack of censure....where would it be? Let the market decide who fails and who succeeds. All the best. Cheers.

Speaking of creativity....it is to my mind such a contrast...the technology and the content....ie. photographs of nature, handmade things, paintings, story-telling, poetry, prose....etc. Nothing has changed only the medium by which they are communicated.

Genial, ich bin begeistert, wie du mit der Gitarre umgehst. Hast eine sehr schöne Gesangsstimme.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82