Steemit Open Mic Week 87 - ''Sea'' (Jorge Drexler) - Cover Song.

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

A quite late entry for Open Mic , I was messing around this song and thought to give it a try here :p . Some dodgy moments but well.. Live playing !

I'm big into lyrics when it comes to songwriting and Jorge Drexler is one of my favorite lyricists , he can say thing so powerful with a very simple language , ''Sea'' is not an exception. It revolves around the phrase ''Y que sea lo que, sea'' an expression that would translate to '' whatever will be , will be''. A song that to me talks about accepting our fate.

''My coin is already spinning in the air.. and whatever will be.. will be''

Hope you like it!

Sea

(Jorge Drexler)

Ya estoy en la mitad de esta carretera
Tantas encrucijadas quedan atrás
Ya está en el aire girando mi moneda
Y que sea lo que
Sea

Todos los altibajos de la marea
Todos los sarampiones que ya pasé
Yo llevo tu sonrisa como bandera
Y que sea lo que
Sea

Lo que tenga que ser, que sea
Y lo que no por algo será
No creo en la eternidad de las peleas
Ni en las recetas de la felicidad

Cuando pasen recibo mis primaveras
Y la suerte este echada a descansar
Yo miraré tu foto en mi billetera
Y que sea lo que
Sea

Y el que quiera creer que crea
Y el que no, su razón tendrá
Yo suelto mi canción en la ventolera
Y que la escuche quien la quiera escuchar
Ya esta en el aire girando mi moneda
Y que sea lo que
Sea

Here's a translation, this one is hard to translate.. but i'll give it a shot:

Whatever will be, will be

I am in the middle of this read
so much crossroads where left behind
My coin is already spinning in the air
and whatever will be , will be

All the ups and downs of the tides
all the measles I already passed
I carry your smile like my flag
and whatever will be , will be

Whatever will be , will be
and those things that won't , a reason there must be
I don't believe in the eternity of fights
Or in the recipe of happiness

When Springs pass their toll on me
And my luck is laying down , taking a rest
I'll look into your picture inside my wallet
and whatever will be , will be

Whoever wants to believe , let him believe
And for those who don't , their reasons they must have
I'll just throw my song into the air
And whoever wants to listen , just listen

My coin is already spinning in the air
and whatever will be , will be

Thank you very much for reading and listening! As always big props to @luzcypher and @pfunk for setting this space for us! and of course @krystle , @passion-ground , @meno, @soundlegion and @verbal-d for their amazing work as judges!

Sort:  

I need to check Drexler as you seem to admire his work a lot, but I still feel your style in the way to sing it... There was an unexpected change of chords and progression and I really liked it... I like the songs that have deep meanings and work like poetry... not the obvious words that we have used so many times... I'm sort of happy I can understand the words. And your singing lovely...
by the way in the Canary Islands is a super typical word while in the mainland they don't know much what it is... XD

All the best Pechi as always...!

Thank you so much Pris :) . Yes , I love Drexler's poetry and all musicianship , I love to read through his lyrics and just enjoy the writing , he is indeed one of my favorite authors !

Much love , ratties and cookies !

You are really a good singer and inlove your high notes register, it is solid and still strong and so pleasant to hear, amazing your range from lows to highs. thanks, I could do with a cookie.

Thank you Luz :)

This is a beautiful song. And you did it justice. Beautiful voice and beautiful guitar work.
You’re right, these lyrics are powerful. Bit like letting go to the river of life going with the flow. You wouldn’t believe this, but I was listening to this driving at night in the bush and was thinking about the melody and not focusing. I nearly hit a wombat!! A really big wombat!!!.
So that time you called me awombat hugger was close, but it could’ve become wombat killer!!
While speaking of the melody. Can I ask when this was released? Because it sounds a lot like a Peter Gabriel song. @meno can you pick it?

I'm glad this song did not harm any wombats!! poor guy! glad it didn't turn into an accident !

Thank you Nathan bro , it was a last minute thing but I was vibing with the song and thought to go with it a little , I'm glad you enjoyed it ! I love Drexler's poetry , his songs have real content while being catchy.. a nice combination.

According to Wikipedia this song was released in 2001. I can't seem to relate it to a Peter Gabriel's song though :P . This is the original.

:O pero no sabia que cantabas, que hermoso vale cantas muyyyy lindoooooo tienes mi voto y obvio mi apoyo. Muy bonita cancion voy a buscarla a ver si la toco jejejeje

Gracias @kkarenmp ! solo soy cantante en Steemit jajajaj ! me alegro que te haya gustado :) . Me gustaría escucharla , ya te sabes el truco de karaoke ;)

Nothing dodgy whatsoever my friend! Love it!

Thank Passion brother ! glad you liked it ! I love this song :)

I was having a really bad morning and this just calmed me right down. Thank you for that. It's achingly beautiful. I mean it. And the smile at around 1:50 is my favorite part of the whole video. ♥ Cheers, friend. Hugs for days.

Thank you so much Serena.. :) . I love this song and I somehow resonated with the part of ''When Springs pass their toll on me, And my luck is laying down , taking a rest'' and I just smiled at it :P ( also that and because of a cookie I was going to eat ) .. but now.. I share the cookie with you..

$cookie @paintingangels ( copy and paste in on discord to get your reward )

Beautifully sung and even if I can't understand it, i could feel the emotions. well kinda cheated and read the translation so kinda had known what it meant.

It has such a beautiful message of accepting things.

Thank you mav ! that compliment means a lot :) ! No cheating at all! That's why I include the translations hahaha ! I'm big into lyrics , not only melodies.. so I really want people to know what I am singing about :) !

Have some bacon! Throws bacon

Yeah beauty Peachie. I second what Serena said, smile at 1:50 made me smile huge too ♡♡
And thank you for translating. Pretty lyrics.

Thank you @amymya ! :D ! Happy that I brought you a smile ! I will send you choco and cookies over discord :D . Much love.

This is a really good song. You play it beautifully and softly. You sing it with heart, like if it's your song. You brought a lot of calmness to my morning. Thank you for that. So now you know that @paintingangels speaks true, and the others as well. We are all feeling it ^_^

Thank you very much @foxyspirit for the nice words.. I love the message of this song.. and I kind of feel it applied to my life in these days :) ! Glad you felt some of it through me! Means a lot! Much love!

That is awesome! I am happy for you that you feel it in your life too. Music is so much! Imagine being without music??? No way.

As @maverickinvinctus said, beautiful singing even if I didn’t understand a word. I hope to catch an English recording from you too so I can fully appreciate the sentiments expressed!

Thank you very much @linnyplant :) ! I play mostly in spanish but will try to include more english then ;) !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62