Open Mic Week 5 entry - @paulhallman - Funky Monks

in #openmic8 years ago

Today I’m a bit jacked up on Red Bull and traffic angst, so I don’t know if I’m in the best state to settle into a funky groove. But this song is short and sweet, at least it is when I play it on acoustic minus the bass and electric guitar solos, and I don’t have much time to squeeze this in. I’m still getting settled in, and I have a long list of posts I’m planning that can’t be done until my studio and kitchen are completely set up. My work days are long, so I only have a few good hours every evening that I can get things done before I fall asleep. I never thought I’d be a day person, but here I am, falling asleep every night like an old man and waking up before my alarm goes off at 5:45 am.

So I’m not sure how far I’ll get with the studio in the next week (building the isolation booth is the thing that will take some actual effort), but at the very least I will have a post from a gig I’m doing on Saturday. I haven’t played out in years, and you guys will get to see some of it. I do have two more studio recordings of cover songs to post, so maybe that’ll happen this week as well. I’m dying to get back to recording my songs, though. If anyone has any tips on DIY isolation booths, or just soundproofing in general, I more than welcome any suggestions.

This song is a funky gem from one of the best albums ever made, Blood Sugar Sex Magik from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. John Frusciante was one of my early guitar heroes. Everything he played screamed soul. While I don’t get to rip into those wailing guitar solos he did on this song since I’m playing solo acoustic, just the guitar rhythm is bad as fuck. I miss playing this with a band, especially since I had a bass player that could hang with Flea. I mean, I still do, he’s one of my closest friends, but we don’t play much together anymore. I’m trying to get him on Steemit with his cooking videos and articles, and maybe I can get him to play bass on something. Anyway, here’s the song, gotta get to work on the house. See ya'll soon!

open-mic-week-5.png

Sort:  

Oooh @paulhallman - seriously enjoying the acoustic version and I have to say, "YOU'VE GOT RANGE!"
Very nice!

Thanks Janis... I mean @merej99! :-)

Nice playing and singing. I love the red hot chili peppers, their modern funky sound is hard to match in the style in which they play and sing. So much energy and passion, but provides really fun vibes. Thanks for sharing, upvoted.

Thanks man! They have always been inspiring to me in the way that they just love each other and love making music so much. If you haven't seen the movie Funky Monks I highly recommend it. It's the making of Blood Sugar Sex Magik. They recorded it in a supposedly haunted house, and they had a blast.

Oh I haven't seen that movie I will definitely check it out and you're very welcome their music is really good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38