Open Mic Week 4 - @paulhallman - I Shall Be Released

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Hey guys and girls. Yes, I am still here. I’ve been moving, so I’ve only been able to get on Steemit just enough to see how much music I’m missing from everyone without being able to listen to it on my studio monitors. I’m going to catch up, sorry I wasn’t able to do much voting or participating of any kind in the last week or so. I now have an awesome home in the historic Riverside/Avondale section of Jacksonville, and I have my dog back. Life is good. This is the area of town for artists, musicians, and other weird folk like us. It’s going to be a perfect Halloween vibe. I’ve never lived here. I’ve always lived closer to the beach. I used to skip school occasionally to come out here and hang out in the park, go to the head shop, and explore the haunted elementary school that no one has been allowed in for decades. Google “public school no. 4 jacksonville”. I remember some time ago online I found a nice photo collection illegally taken from inside, and now I can’t believe I had the balls to go in there. Wait, yes I can. I was with two girls that were all about it, so of course I went in.

Anyway, I’m in the middle of getting things situated and looking for/building furniture, so I still don’t have much time for Steemit posting yet, but I did take a few minutes to knock out my Open Mic entry for the week. It’s along the same lines as last week, but mellower so I don’t bother my new neighbors on day two. The song I posted last week was written and performed by The Band; this one was written by Bob Dylan but first recorded (officially) by The Band. I personally don't care for the way Dylan does it (his demo version sounded too peppy). The Band (with Richard Manuel on lead vocals) made it a melancholy masterpiece. I don't do it exactly like them, but they are who inspired me to learn this song.

I’m really excited about what’s to come now that I’m finally getting settled in. I’m most likely going to build an isolation booth for my studio, and once everything is all set up I’ll make a video showing how I record, mix, and master. My kitchen is a lot nicer than I expected it would be, so I’ll be able to do some cooking posts as well. I’ve been having Steemit separation anxiety, but I’m about to be back better than ever.

Optimized-Open Mic Week 4.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Paul, thanks for supporting Open MIc again with a song. Please, can you change the Open Mic poster image to week 4's announcement? Thanks. Here's the code.
[![Optimized-Open Mic Week 4.jpg](https://s14.postimg.org/e6xlehctt/Optimized_Open_Mic_Week_4.jpg)](https://steemit.com/@luzcypher)

What is open mic? is there an article explaining this?

Open Mic is a weekly contest. Here's the link to enter Open Mic Week 4.

Did I have the wrong one up? Sorry!

Digging the falsetto!

Thanks @quicksilvernight! The falsetto verse is my homage to Richard Manuel. He sang the whole song in the sweetest falsetto, but he also had probably the gruffest, "manliest" voice in The Band on certain songs.

Chip, are you going to enter Open Mic?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52