OpenMic Night Contest entry - Paul Hallman - Let's Stay Together

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Something wicked this way comes.

As a native Floridian, I’ve been through a lot of hurricanes. As a truck driver, I drove through many snowstorms, a couple of windstorms (how has everything in Wyoming not been blown away? That place is crazy!), a nor’easter in Maine, and traffic in L.A., Atlanta, Chicago, Miami, and the New Jersey Turnpike (those are daily disasters). This is the first time I’ve ever evacuated for anything. Jacksonville doesn’t get hit by hurricanes. We get a lot of the nasty weather from them, but rarely does a hurricane hit close enough to home to make us seriously consider leaving. This one is different, and I live just a few miles from the beach.

I’m packed into a car with some friends on the way to Georgia. I brought my camera, but no room for any music equipment. So I hope my studio isn’t wiped away when I come home. I didn’t really set up for optimal sound with this video, what with the hardwood floor and all, but I was in a hurry. So here's some Al Green for you. I'll see ya'll in a few days.

Sort:  

"I'm about to evacuate but not before I do this", your dedication inspires me!

@senseiteekay Ain't no hurricane gonna stop me from singing. Also, the friends I was riding with out of town don't wake up as early as I do, so I had some time. But mostly, that dedication thing.

One of my absolute fave songs. Love this. I always think Pulp Fiction, and that might be blasphemous to the song depending on your opinion of Terantino, but I don't think so.

@jessamynorchard Pulp Fiction is the first time I ever heard this song. I saw it in the theater when it came out, and I remember walking out of the movie shocked at what I had just seen. My teenage brain didn't know what to make of it. I still think of the back of Marcellus Wallace's head talking about how easy it is to throw a fight every time I hear or sing this song. It means much more to me now, but like you, Pulp Fiction will always be a part of this song for me.

In case I wasn't clear, Pulp Fiction is one of my favorite movies ever. Tarantino can be kind of a cheeseball, but that movie was f'ing genius. And Reservoir Dogs was just short of that. But my love for 70's R&B came mostly from the guys I played with in South Korea. That's when I discovered Stevie Wonder, and that Al Green was more than just a great choice by Quentin Tarantino.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Chills goin' down my spine. Good song pick!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76