Steemit Open Mic Week 62 | UNOFFICIAL: Hopes and Dreams (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

When it comes to making music, one might say that I’m somewhat of a “Jack of all Trades” however, it is abundantly obvious that I am clearly the master of none – nothing more than a mere half-assed “handyman” if you will.

As such, I rely upon my well-known antics, inherent passion, and a multitude of my own pre-recorded tracks to add what I hope is a meaningful level of entertainment value to the community.

The balance of this post explains everything you need to know about my latest “Amateur-Hour” contribution to the Open-Mic venue.


I recommend headphones for this. Lyrics are below if you'd like to read along.

Should you wish to skip my 3-minute intro, the actual song starts at 3:17.

This particular “Song from the Attic” was dusted off and re-written because of a comment thread beneath @melavie's entry for week #59.

Melavie Inspiration Thread.png

https://steemit.com/openmic/@melavie/steemit-open-mic-week-59-at-all-original-song

The last line in the first verse in my song that triggered my inspiration was “Was it just an illusion – or the power of well-tested time? ” So yeah, thanks for reminding me of this old piece of dusty attic-trash @melavie! I sure hope it cleans up well.

I used to call the song “Tell Me” but I’ve decided to re-title it “Hopes and Dreams” instead. To give you an idea of just how much of an amateur I am – it took me over two-weeks to re-write a song I had already written 25-years ago. Now compare that level of composition skills to our current field of “Songwriters” who are knocking out brilliant songs and melodies in a matter of days, and sometimes hours – and you can totally get where I’m coming from.

Yeah, so in this song, I play all of the recorded instruments. There’s a bass track, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar, tambourines, shakers, vocals, and a drum track. The song forks into a kind of free-form jam at the end – and I had a great deal of difficulty with my timing amid this transition from the first part of the song.

I simply didn’t have the luxury of time to do more than one or two takes for each track. In fact, most all of the recorded tracks were single takes, and I believe therein lies all of the timing problems strewn throughout the song – especially at the end.

Songs from the Attic - Manilla Folder _ Selfie from days gone by.jpeg.png

Insofar as the video goes, it’s really somewhat of a “sing-a-long” with my original pre-recorded tracks – and I’m more or less just using the acoustic guitar as a prop. In the past, I would labor through videotaping myself playing each instrument and then edit all the parts together to create my infamous “one-man-band” theatricals. Ha-ha…

As it was, I had to spend several extra hours just editing out all of my cuss words! Ha-ha! Yeah, I know it’s been somewhat of a trademark-antic of mine – but sometimes it just gets too out of hand. I don’t know what it is… Mix some rock and roll with a few glasses of wine and bingo – my vocabulary goes full “Andrew-Dice-Clay” retard – or at the very least, various shades of a Quentin Tarantino film or Soprano-esk if you will.

When I woke up today, I thought, gee, you know, kids might be nearby when someone hits that play button, or I may just really be offending someone without any intention to do so.

With that, I rolled up my sleeves and did my best to edit out most all of my cussing. I’m sure a few gems still remain here and there - so just know that - or make believe you’re watching an R-rated film with some cussing parts. Ha!

The result of all that editing is evident in spots – so please excuse those portions of video transitions that do not make any sense. I will do my best in the future in refraining from using such language as I cannot afford the time it would take to constantly edit them all out. So – sorry for that.

Here are the lyrics.


HOPES and DREAMS

_Verse - 1_

 ...
Let me tell you about a time when it used to be.
- When you were saved a place – safe, honored, and free…
 You knew your own place, - and order in line. 
- Was it just an illusion, - or the power - of well-tested time, yeah.
…

_Chorus_

...
Hopes and Dreams, yeah, tell me the things.
- How the things you believed in – were somehow in reach.
As much as you live for, - as much as you learned - 
- As much as you’d die for, - as such you would teach.
...

_Verse-2_

…
You had one true friend, at your left -
And one true lover, at your right -
Marking time like true heroes, -  
You shared the glory - and you shared the light, yeah.  
 Whatcha say - Whatcha say -  Whatcha say...
…

_Verse - 3_

...
But something happened along the way.
- Said you wanna talk about it.
Uh, said you got somethin’ -
- You said - you got somethin’ to say, yeah.
…

_Chorus_

…
We’re wrecking ourselves - can’t you see it?
We’re bleeding ourselves, can’t you see?
We built a machine, and it’s turning our race - 
Into a place that’s no place to be – oh, nope, nope, no.
…

_Free-Form / Jam-Out to End_

...
Uhh – ain’t no place to be…

Tell me what I got to live for.
- Tell me what I’m proud to be.

Tell me what it is that I’m gonna get,
- Tell me bout the Merican – bout the Merican dream.

Yeah, bout the Merican dream…
...

...
Tell me how I’m gonna make it.
- Tell me bout my ticket to ride.

Yeah, bout my ticket to ride…

Tell me you don’t really believe this – 
Tell me just another   -   Uhh

Just another   -   

 Uhh   - Just another lie…  Just another lie… Just another lie…
...

Until next time, to all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And as always, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible…

PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL

Sort:  

I loved that acoustic song at the beginning man. You are rockin' out like always. Mad respect. Great song. Very 80s like usual, which is a good thing.

Thanks, Doc! Glad you liked the front-end vibe... Yeah, even though it was written in the early 90's, I'm certain there's still a lot of 80's influence within... Thanks again for your comment and support - It means a lot!

P.S.
As fate would have it, it just so happens that I lost the whereabouts of my pick right when the green light was flashing... Seems we both made due with our "pick" misfortunes in that regard this week... haha!

haha the pick is essential! Always enjoy your music man.

Some chill rock vibe you got going there @passion-ground ! keeping it cool :) . Im curious to know more about that telecaster I see in the wall :D . Cheers my bro!

Hey, Pehciche - Thank you, my brother! Those guitars on the wall are cheap knock-offs from China ha!... :-) But they stay in tune and sound acceptable for my purposes. Cheers!

ohhhh i so love seeing you my friend. this is great.... I am dying to get myself on some new open mic recorded jump in's i just been a busy mess, but you inspire me to kick more into gear. huge love fantastic. lay it down my friend lay it down!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89