Steemit Open Mic Week 55: Totally Off The Reservation – A Compilation of “Kitchen Sink” (covers)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

Are you ready for a bat-shit CRAZY entry? Well, you’re in luck, because it’s Passion-Ground-Time for another SPOOF entry! Hope you get several laughs out of this just-under-10-minute musical comedy sketch, in which I make a complete fool of myself!!!

I don’t know about you, but occasionally I just have to let loose, become rather silly, and have some random-childlike and spontaneous fun!

I think many of us enjoy doing this from time-to-time – it’s just that most of us would not be so inclined to share such potentially embarrassing escapades publically. Well, you’re in luck - because I’m not one to shy away from sharing such “off-the-reservation” endeavors!

This week’s entry exemplifies such unfiltered folly, and I do hope you get as much of a kick out of it as I did. Fair WARNING though – frustration aside, this entry contains excessive unrestrained profanity amidst an otherwise joyous experience of pure unadulterated fun and pleasure!

If nothing else, consider this entry, which is just shy of 10-minutes, a musically charged comedy sketch. I’ll try to break down the timeline of all the varied segments of the skit later in the post. In the meantime, here’s how it all began.

So there I was, just chillin’ out, getting ready to do some dishes after dinner and then suddenly, while standing at the kitchen sink, Neil Young’s “Heart Of Gold” crossed over the Pandora airwaves.

Instantly inspired, I began grooving to the tune with the nearest instrument available to me – and of all such things nearest at hand, - this turned out to be … The Kitchen (fucking) Sink!

After both the song and my impromptu and masterful (unrecorded) percussive accompaniment to it ended (ha-ha) – I was like, holy shit, that felt so frikkin’ AWESOME!, I’ve got to share this somehow and record it for the openmic people!!

So I set up the camera, and proceeded to search Pandora for an instant replay in order to recapture my brilliant ”Kitchen Sink” performance of “Heart Of Gold.”

You Can’t Always Get What You Want …Well, much to my dismay, such features are not available with the free version of Pandora, which mind you, is all that the household budget can afford to spend on such luxuries at this time. :-)

My frustrations in this regard are captured in all their profane glory within the first minute and 20 seconds of the clip.

Next, from the 1:20 – 1:49 mark, I reveal my truly moronic colors, provide a sneak-peek sample of what’s to come, and very much hope/assume that you’ll allow me to just be myself for a stretch – and kindly indulge me, if you would.

Next-up, from the 1:50 thru 3:17 mark, I do my best in trying to explain just how this all came about, the effect it’s having on me, and some sage wisdom with regard to the way in which we should all perceive the “Kitchen Sink” from this day forward! Note: this is a very crucial segment!!! (Ha-Ha)

Since I was clearly unsuccessful in acquiring auditory access to “Heart Of Gold,” I succumbed to accepting whatever the random Pandora cue had to offer, and rendering to it - my new-found brand of “Kitchen-Sink” percussion amid a medley of covers from the 3:17 to roughly the 4:30 mark.

And for the grand-finally, from about the 4:30 mark till the end, is where I pay the utmost homage to the instrument otherwise known as the double-stainless steel-“Kitchen Sink.” Trust me; you don’t want to miss this stretch of percussive brilliance by any means.

Therein these last 4-minutes, I pay tribute to one of my all-time favorite “groove songs,” which totally intoxicates and hypnotizes me every time I listen to it.

So – In closing, I just wanna thank you all for letting me be myself here in the Open-Mic community.

Oh, and PS… Please forgive the inadvertent and indiscreet showing of the white band of my black “Calvin’s” and the attendant “Love Handles” that come along with them at no extra charge of course!

Oh, my fuckin’ hands!!! (Ha-ha!) Perhaps one day, if the gods of Pandora are willing, I’ll eventually get around to recording and share my “Kitchen Sink” percussive rendition of Neil Young’s “Heart Of Gold.” We’ll see…

Until next time, to all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And as always, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible…

PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL…_

Sort:  

You play a mean kitchen sink, @passion-ground!
That is the mark of a true percussionist:D

That's exactly what I was thinking @tarotbyfergus! Thanks for your indulgence, brother!

hahahaha you are having too much fun!!

Ha-haaaa... yes indeed, Meno - that I am... Hope everyone else is too! Thanks, man!

Very entertaining... How fucked up were you?

Oh, I was a bit tipsy for sure... 3 or 4 glasses of wine maybe... Haha... Glad you found it entertaining!

LOL I get stoned every night after dinner and crack my kids up, so I'm kinda the same way with that ;)

lol, great selection of tunes. And the drumming was actually pretty great IMO.

Love the Comedic approach to this one!

Thank you, Jaybird! Yeah, the selection did turn out rather nicely given it’s just what came off Pandora’s cue… I was really trying to get “Heart Of Gold” to come back on again – but as is typical – “you can’t always get what you want.” Ha-ha…… Glad you liked the comedic aspect – it’s good to break things up a bit every now and then… Oh, and thanks for giving my kitchen-sink drumming the attention it deserved! Haha… :-)

haha nice one ;)

haha lovin' that you are living life to the fullest. I would be bummed too if heart of gold couldn't play haha.

Ha-ha... Thanks, Doc!

God this is awesome! Thank you for sharing you talent!! I am so glad I joined Steemit!! Here’s nothing but AMAZING people! You are definitely one of the most brilliant ones!! Definitely following you! Where are you from by the way?

Thank you, Katherine... that's quite nice of you... I'm from NYC originally... raised in CT if that matters... and living elsewhere at present... My talent is rather limited compared to most - at least on Open Mic anyway - but I do love music, people, talent, and great performers... So - who knows? ... We'll see... God Bless!

very nice! .
I don't think your talent is "limited" AT ALL. Plus, you've got all the passion in the world! even you name says it. Lol! . That energy of yours is very contagious. I wonder what is like to actually see you live haha.. it most be an out of this world experience.

I do see there's lots of talent here on Steemit.
That's probably why i like it so much! way better than other social networks. I Mean, i do like facebook , etc. But it has nothing to nurture me with. You know what i mean? Everybody over there (and most social networks) is way to busy trying to look pretty and perfect. And showing a perfect life... (that everybody wishes to have but don't) Sure there's talented people everywhere, but it mostly shows the bad side of humanity... On steemit.. there's pure talent (with some exceptions off course) but.. everybody is trying to share what they know... and help one another.. and grow together.... and ... there's no hate being spread (not that i know of) and it's like the oposite to facebook .. because it shows the beautiful side of humanity.. it kind of shows their souls... and i LOVE that.

Thanks for replying back to me! i really appreciate it!

Have a wonderful sunday!

What kind and insightful words @Soykatonline - thank you, so much! Actually, I'd probably bore you to tears if you actually were able to see how I live... (ha-ha) Except perhaps after around 8 or so each evening when the music and animal in me comes alive.... Lol..... ;-)

Haha! I am niot your if yu are joking.. but in case you aren’t.. when i say “live” i mean playing live, lol !
I can see then that you are night owl, just like me... but i think it is just the way most creative people are.

Hey man i already replied in the openmic thread...you moved me

this is pure :) , amazing instrument and you played it so pro !! music is everywhere and this was an example of it, :)))
great job bro!

Hilarity and some good improve! Interesting combo!

Yep... haha... that's what I was going for... glad you thought so, Andrew, thanks!

good work @ passion_ground, keep on playing music and I hope we can play along with my old obsolete guitar

Thank you, Sabatini!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86