You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 48 - An Original Song Fragment in DADEAD tuning (guitar)

in #openmic7 years ago

Carl, your voice in “Falling Down,” which I love btw, to my ear, is a bit reminiscent of James Taylor. I loved both of these songs! Your guitar is every bit as sweet as your voice! And thanks for all of the custom tuning tips – I’ve never explored that realm, but after reading your description, I now have to get around to doing just that at some point in the future.

And yes, by all means, I hereby humbly request that you kindly grace us with “Microscope Eye” to complete this brilliant trilogy. There ain’t nuthin’ quite like that “third movement” if you know what I mean. (he,he)

PS Nice Shirt! (Ha)

PSS I realize that in being such a great Dad, and all else that you likely do - that your time is limited, so here’s a quick production tip to help you get more mileage out of your great songs. I don’t think anyone would arrest or disqualify you if you made two separate entry videos here (in the same “undisclosed” location, and with the same shirt on – or not. LOL) One for this week, and then one for next – you could then just sit on next week’s until the time comes to post it as a new official entry. Just keep your week numbers straight. With these “two-movements,” you should be good-to-go, while getting a lot more mileage from this new pair of sneakers. – lol – Cheers!

Sort:  

Awww thanks @passion-ground - I have received the James Taylor comparison before and there is certainly nothing wrong with that! High praise :) I have written literally hundreds and hundreds of songs, not too worried about extending mileage! ... unless you are saying this entry was too long? Which may be valid - five minutes is a fairly long time to ask for someone's attention in this day and age I suppose :) Cheers - Carl

Nah, this was not too long at all! Just a selfish suggestion to raise the odds of me getting to hear you play each and every week without missing a beat. I could listen to an extended-play album of yours in a heartbeat!

Hey @passion-ground, taking you at your word here that you actually enjoy hearing me sing and play - here is a link to a song I just posted :)
https://steemit.com/music/@carlgnash/sound-advice-original-song-dgdfgd-tuning

I most certainly do Carl! That one seems a bit older as your beard wasn't quite as long - maybe even a really long time ago? Anyway, I upvoted and left you this comment:

"This is great Carl! The lyrics are poignant, the melody unique, and your performance, splendid!"

December of 2008 so yeah... almost a decade - guess that does count as a really long time ago! The contest this week got me thinking about some other tunings I used to play in, which brought that song to mind. Thanks for checking it out and the kind words! Much love - Carl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47